Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I used 2 parts butter and 1 part melted coconut oil for the vegetable oil, used milk kefir instead of water (buttermilk would work too), used about 1 part of coconut flour for every 4 parts of wheat flour, substituted sucanat for white sugar, used a little mashed winter squash mixed in with the sweet potatoes, and tossed in a generous handful of chocolate chips at the end. This recipe freezes really well, so I like to triple it so I can tuck a couple of loaves into the freezer for later -- of course, I have to do it quickly and hide it in the back of the freezer before my family gobbles it all up! Next time, I might try using ground ginger instead of nutmeg. Thanks for this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by METG

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Absolutely yummy. Didn't add the nuts as my family don't like them but it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Barnes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Husband, who happens to be a chef, requests this bread. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Nice Moist Bread !! Enjoyed this and followed another suggestion.Using no oil or water , Just 1 cup of Applesauce. I put into 2 loaf pans and added 3 tblspoons of Good quality [ real ] Maple Syrup. I can't stop eating this bread !! I also left out the Nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Maspeth, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Was just ok.. Not a bad flavor.. But not much of one either. I cut down on sugar to about 1 cup I think anymore would not have helped. Usually a fan all the well rated recipes but this one just didn't hit the mark..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
My family loved it. It was very easy to make. I used butter instead of oil, 1/2 c each of white sugar and brown sugar, vanilla flavoring, and milk instead of water. I made this as muffins. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Yum! Moist and tasty! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farnborough, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving and a loaf for our guests to take with them. Everyone loved it. I put nuts on top though. My hubby loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Very good and easy to make with items most people have on hand. I mashed up a small can of yams, then added a small handful of both white chocolate chips and cinnamon chips, and 1/2 teaspoon of ginger into the batter, then sprinkled some raw sugar on top and it was delicious! I mixed up butter and honey and served that alongside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
i followed the recipe, the only changes i made was i used cloves instead of nutmeg, only because i had none on stock and it turned out delicious and so moist! i was able to get one loaf and six muffins out of the recipe. i will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States