Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I used leftover baked sweet potatoes, half & half brown & white sugar, canola oil, added in 1/4 tsp of allspice to the other spices and substituted orange pineapple juice for the water. I omitted the nuts, since I'm on a budget, and it was delicious without them. Since I probably used more potatoes than the recipe called for, it looked like I had too much batter for a loaf pan, so I poured it into a large round cake pan and baked for 45 min until a toothpick inserted into the center came out clean. My husband loved this. The streusel and cinnamon sugar ideas sound interesting, too, I might try one of those toppings sometime. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I loved the flavor of this bread. Next time I will try replacing some of the oil with water or milk or add some more dry ingredients because my bread came out too gooey and wouldn't fluff/firm. But otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Very tasty. I followed the reviews and used applesauce instead of oil and apple juice instead of water. I also used pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon and allspice. I also added kind of a struesel topping-1/4 c brown sugar, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1T melted butter. I sprinkled that on the top and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Good. it was VERY moist and it never looked done in the middle though tasted done. took longer than stated to cook but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was okay. My kids really enjoyed it. I thought it could use a little extra spice to it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Thank you for this amazing recipe....it has been a big hit among coworkers and family....everybody always wants more....i added allspice which made yummier for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Doubled the recipe, substituted half the oil with applesauce. Added half cup of choc chips (for double the recipe) and didn't have pecans so had to use a nutty granola mix. Turned out very good, very moist. Still prefer pumpkin to this, but it was a great way to use up leftover sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
So easy, so good. Apparently this would be difficult to mess up...because I certainly tried. I forgot to alternate the water and flour mix. Then I added way to many sweet potatoes. Still, this recipe turned out beautifully and went fast. Thanks for sharing Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Really enjoyed this! Used applesauce for oil and only 1/2 of sugar (brown) and it was sweet enough for me. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Made into muffins with a oatmeal crumb topping. I used half whole wheat & half bread flour - came out VERY tender! Needs a bit more spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States