Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Absolutely LOVED IT!!!! I doubled the recipe. Then added only 1 cup white sugar, 1 cup brown sugar. instead of oil I added 1 cup homemade apple sauce. Instead of water I added apple sauce. It turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I really love this bread I substituted 1 stick of butter for the oil and poured melted butter on top and sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar mixture the last ten minutes of cooking it was so good even my kids loved it. It was like pumpkin bread but milder. Thanks I'll be making these for gifts during Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca_laymance

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Excellent! I made muffins instead of bread, and my kids loved them. I did use only 1 cup sugar, and they were plenty sweet enough. It's so hard to find a healthy, low fat muffin or bread that tastes good- this one's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This is delicious! The changes I made were to add 1/2 teaspoon of allspice along with the cinnamon and nutmeg and used 3/4 cup each of white and brown sugar instead of all white. I used apple juice instead of water for the liquid. This is a very sweet bread, so if you don't like that you might want to try a different recipe. It is moist, fragrantly spicy and a little less heavy than a similar recipe with pumpkin would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
What a great recipe! Instead of using fresh sweet potatoes, I opted for using the canned yams (you know, the "Bruce's Canned Yams). I used a half of the large can and smashed it up. Also, instead of using water, I used the "juice" from the can for extra sweet potato flavor. This definitely cut back on the time aspect. I also decided to omit the nuts. I think I will try this with pumpkin too, or maybe 1/2 cup of sweet potato and 1/2 cup of pumpkin? Really moist and really scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
I made this with canned sweet potatoes, left the nuts out, and then baked it in a Pampered Chef Mini-Muffin Pan! I had to double the recipe because the kids kept coming! What a great way to sneak in a veggie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
AMAZING bread - 10 stars. This is so incredibly moist and tender. It's a very wet, loose batter, but no worries, it cooks up wonderfully. After the first time of making it exactly as written (which is great), I've been substiting milk for the water, and using 50/50 white and brown sugar (I cut the sugar down to 1 1/4 cup too). The brown sugar adds more depth of flavor. I sometimes use a few tablespoons more of sweet potato than called for if there's a little extra in my bowl and it just adds more flavor to the bread (be sure to add a few more minutes bake time if you do this). I also eliminate the nutmeg since it's overpowers the bread. Cinnamon is enough spice. My two young kids inhaled this in a few hours - not knowing how good it was for them. For healthier bakers, you can subsitute applesauce for the oil, but you will need to add about an extra 5-8 min. of baking time. Since this batter is pretty wet, I like to stick to the oil instead of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This bread came out just fantastic. A local restaurant used to sell sweet potato bread that I just loved, and this recipe is near identical to it. I modified it slightly by substituting apple juice (in place of water) and apple sauce (in place of vegetable oil). This didn't give it an overly apple flavor at all, but it kept the bread moist for a week and gave it just a subtle undertone of apple. I also added raisins, instead of pecans. It was a hit with everyone who managed to grab a slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, New York, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
This is a great way to use up any leftover sweet potatoes that you may have. That's what I did and my husband and children loved this bread. I'll be making it again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JFLAMINGO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
This was very good! Even for those who don't like sweet potatoes. I added extra nuts but I do that to everything. It is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States