Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Fantastic! And easy to make even healthier. I used 1/2 cup applesauce instead of oil. I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar, but with the other changes (below), next time will probably only use the 1/2 cup brown sugar. I added 1/2 cup pineapple tidbits and used 1/3 cup of the juice instead of water. This makes it naturally sweet and you can cut back on the added sugar! I kept the pecans - yeah, a few more calories, but nuts are good for you in moderate quantities! (I also left out the nutmeg... I like it but felt it might be too overpowering in this recipe). With these changes, I got 17 muffins. It took 23 minutes to cook the first dozen at 350 and 21 minutes to cook the last 5 (also at 350). With the recipe I made, each muffin was only 132 calories (but tasted like more!). With only 1/2 cup of brown sugar, it would eliminate a further 23 calories per muffin. Awesome! Note: You WILL need extra cooking time if you replace the oil with apple sauce, and if you add moist ingredients like pineapple. A tip: to "lightly" grease a pan, spray a small amount of Pam on the tin, then use a paper towel to grease the muffin cups. It goes a long way with way less oil or butter than traditional greasing. Also, if you have an old muffin tray... it may just be time to invest in a new one. They're less than $10 and so worth it! Happy Baking! Edit: These don't rise *that* much... next time I will fill the cups and make a dozen larger muffins (obviously increase baking time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Made this today, followed recioe with only 2 minor additions, 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice and about a half cup golden raisins I had on hand. It turned out excellent. I have enough to freeze (I made one medium loaf pan and 2 mini-loaves) so I will see how well it freezes. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I made this bread on boxing day for something a bit different to go with our family Christmas supper. It's excellent, everyone loved it and it really does freeze well. I did however leave out the pecans as I am not a fan of nuts in my baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Easy and good, but could be sweeter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was my first attempt at making bread and it was wonderful! Had great reviews from my co-workers!Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I cut down on the sugar and used the left over sweet potatoes from Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This bread was very good. I used leftover mashed sweet potatoes from Thanksgiving, so I did not need to add the spices called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sningram

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willows, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I added some ground cloves and used 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour and 1/2 wholemeal flour, just to give it a try. I also used craisins and slivered almonds (I'm allergic to pecans). Baked it at 175C for about 1 hour. Sadly I made the mistake of misjudging the size of my pan and the bread was not done in the center! But the parts that were done were fantastic! I'll probably play around with the amounts a bit more, but this is definitely worth a taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Definitely in the comfort food category. Only thing I've ever changed with this recipe is to omit the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pchanner
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Wow, was very moist and sweet. I did exchange half the sugar with brown sugar and loved it all. I also didn't mix in the nuts in but added them to a muffin top mix and sprinkled on top. yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States