Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I doubled this recipe because I had a bunch of sweet potatoes that I needed to use. As other reviewers suggested, I used half brown & white sugar, only cinnamon, and 1/2 of the oil and substituted the rest with applesauce, and added walnuts to the top. It turned out great. My ends got over cooked...but I just cut those off!!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Half white sugar and half brown sugar and substituted applesauce for the oil but kept the rest of the recipe the same. Turned out awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Delish! I did everything the recipe called for except I substituted 1/2 the oil for Greek honey yogurt. Mixed butter and brown sugar and put it on top the last 10 minutes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I enjoyed making this reciepe at a whim. The only change I made was macadamia nuts simply because I did not have pecans at the house and 1 cup sugar. Next time I will try the reviewer suggestions of yogurt or applesauce, pineapple bits... I will add vanilla and maybe some coconut flakes. I will add 1/2 cup more of sweet potatoes as well. Lovely bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumbi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I altered this recipe for a gluten free, lower glycemic and lower fat version...It was great!! I Used 1/2 cup each of Coconut and Brown sugars, I used 1/4 Cup Oil with 1/4 Cup and 1/8 Cup Plain Greek Yogurt and I replaced the flour with a Gluten Free All Purpose Baking flour. For the water, I substituted 1/3 Cup coconut water. I blended the everything but the flour and spices in a blender then added it to the flour mixture. I used 2 9X3 loaf pans and reduced baking time to about 45 minutes or when toothpick inserted comes clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Pretty good. Lightly spiced and similar to banana bread. Subbing some of the sugar with brown sugar does improve the flavor. If you use Splenda for the sugar and are making muffins with paper cups, spray the paper cup with cooking spray before adding the batter. This will help with any sticking issues (I loose a bit to the paper if I don't). I used the walnuts I had on hand. Fill the tins mostly full with batter for a full muffin size. Bake for 45 minutes. Makes 6 big muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Felix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Wonderful!!! 8 year old are half the loaf!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I used this recipe to make jumbo muffins! Perfectly moist and delicious ! I substituted the water for evaporated milk I had exactly 1/3 cup leftover from another recipe. I will be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This was a great recipe! I used less sugar, about 1 cup and used walnuts instead of pecans. I also made muffins instead of bread. Tasted sooo good with a little melted on it. My toddlers who do are on a veggie strike loved them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I will be making this agai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States