Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
It was very easy and fast to put together. I used baby food sweet potatoes instead of cooking and mashing. I took my first one out of the pan before it was cool enough - it made the load break in half. Always let it cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Great Recipe! I made some changes which are NOT a mark against the original recipe, just personal preference. Used all unsweetened homemade applesauce instead of oil. Used 1/2 cup white sugar, total. Increased cinnamon times 2. Added 1/2 cup Oats plus 1/2 cup (shredded) Coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by what_she_said

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is the best. I took out all the "white" and subbed whole wheat flour, brown sugar, and applesauce. It was delicious and I gave it out to my fellow yogis and they all want the recipe now. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I absolutely loved this bread! I was searching for an alternative to the banana bread I make very often and I'm sure I've found another bread I like just as much. My boyfriend said that he has co-workers who'd pay me to make it for them and even my 6 year old loved it! First off, I've tried this recipe 3 ways: 0nce as written which was very tasty. One time using applesauce in place of the oil which was slightly 'odd' tasting and I didn't like the texture. Lastly I used 1/2 sweet potato and 1/2 mashed fresh pumpkin and it was INCREDIBLE! Next up I'm going to try a lower fat version with sour cream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purple_inferno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Very good. I took reviewers' advice and used reduced sugar to 1 cup and used 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup brown. I also added craisins and made these in muffin form so that it's easier to freeze and take to work for a snack. Next time I'm going to add extra sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
AMAZING bread - 10 stars. This is so incredibly moist and tender. It's a very wet, loose batter, but no worries, it cooks up wonderfully. After the first time of making it exactly as written (which is great), I've been substiting milk for the water, and using 50/50 white and brown sugar (I cut the sugar down to 1 1/4 cup too). The brown sugar adds more depth of flavor. I sometimes use a few tablespoons more of sweet potato than called for if there's a little extra in my bowl and it just adds more flavor to the bread (be sure to add a few more minutes bake time if you do this). I also eliminate the nutmeg since it's overpowers the bread. Cinnamon is enough spice. My two young kids inhaled this in a few hours - not knowing how good it was for them. For healthier bakers, you can subsitute applesauce for the oil, but you will need to add about an extra 5-8 min. of baking time. Since this batter is pretty wet, I like to stick to the oil instead of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This was wonderful! I made it into muffins and I made it a little healthier by using only 3/4 cup of suger (and still they were plenty sweet), used fat free plain yogurt instead of oil and replaced 1/2 cup of the flour with oats! Still very moist and wonderful flavor. We spread with reduced fat cream cheese for a tasty breakfast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VTmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This recipe is very simple to make and is one of the best breads I have ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was fabulous!! I got a great deal on Sweet Potatoes that I needed to use up, so found this recipe!! Delicious...and perfect just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Replaced with some whole wheat flour. Added mashed sweet potato skin and all. Could go easy on the sugar, it's a very sweet sweet potato bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States