Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This was my first time to ever cook Sweet Potatoes! I followed the recipe exactly as instructed...It was super easy to make & delicious. Looooved it!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Made this for a work project & they loved it. I used 1/2 cup brown/white sugar & applesauce for the oil. Used about 1 1/2 cups of fresh mashed sweet potato & 1/2 cup milk, instead of water. I cooked the sweet potato the night before and kept in the fridge overnight. Some of the reviews said it was a runny batter. Mine was thick, maybe due the cold potato? It definately needed a longer cooking time 60-70 minutes, I checked it often. I loved the pecans in it. Everyone else thought raisins would be great. It is a very dense heavy bread. I made 2 loaves & the 2nd loaf was not eaten right away. 3 days later we ate the other loaf & it was just as moist & delicious as the first one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
My family loved this. Super moist. We call it "instead pumpkin bread." Great way to use up all those sweet potatoes at the end of the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.H.A.O.S. Mommie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia Nelson
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Followed recipe for the most part, but used leftover sweet potatoes from dinner. They were mixed with butter and brown sugar. There for I only used 1 1/4 of white sugar. Didn't have any pecans. For a quick bread it was delish. Even the cable guy enjoyed some :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I doubled this recipe because I had a bunch of sweet potatoes that I needed to use. As other reviewers suggested, I used half brown & white sugar, only cinnamon, and 1/2 of the oil and substituted the rest with applesauce, and added walnuts to the top. It turned out great. My ends got over cooked...but I just cut those off!!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Half white sugar and half brown sugar and substituted applesauce for the oil but kept the rest of the recipe the same. Turned out awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Delish! I did everything the recipe called for except I substituted 1/2 the oil for Greek honey yogurt. Mixed butter and brown sugar and put it on top the last 10 minutes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I enjoyed making this reciepe at a whim. The only change I made was macadamia nuts simply because I did not have pecans at the house and 1 cup sugar. Next time I will try the reviewer suggestions of yogurt or applesauce, pineapple bits... I will add vanilla and maybe some coconut flakes. I will add 1/2 cup more of sweet potatoes as well. Lovely bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumbi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I altered this recipe for a gluten free, lower glycemic and lower fat version...It was great!! I Used 1/2 cup each of Coconut and Brown sugars, I used 1/4 Cup Oil with 1/4 Cup and 1/8 Cup Plain Greek Yogurt and I replaced the flour with a Gluten Free All Purpose Baking flour. For the water, I substituted 1/3 Cup coconut water. I blended the everything but the flour and spices in a blender then added it to the flour mixture. I used 2 9X3 loaf pans and reduced baking time to about 45 minutes or when toothpick inserted comes clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Pretty good. Lightly spiced and similar to banana bread. Subbing some of the sugar with brown sugar does improve the flavor. If you use Splenda for the sugar and are making muffins with paper cups, spray the paper cup with cooking spray before adding the batter. This will help with any sticking issues (I loose a bit to the paper if I don't). I used the walnuts I had on hand. Fill the tins mostly full with batter for a full muffin size. Bake for 45 minutes. Makes 6 big muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Felix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States