Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
i've made this bread dozens of times it never makes it to the next day. this is a great recipe the best!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I added a little vanilla and would suggest using oj instead of water. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Everyone loved this recipe! I substituted 1 stick of butter for the oil and used only 1 cup of sugar. I also added a cinnamon stick to the sweet potatos as they boiled... made the house smell nice while we prepared the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Great recipe!! The kids loved it!! Next time will use half the sugar, though and make it brown. This time I used half brown, half white. I added 1/2 cup coconuts and 1/2 cup craisins. Instead of the oil, I added 1 cup applesauce. Next time I will divide into two smaller loaves also instead of one big one. Very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chonrae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: District Heights, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I've made this recipe twice now and have gotten nothing but rave reviews. However, I did alter it slightly: I subbed unsweetened applesauce for the the oil, added 1/4tsp allspice and used freshly grated nutmeg, which makes a big difference in flavor. I love the exotic flavors these spices give, so with the alterations, I would give the recipe a 5-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I made mini muffins. Excellent withthe following changes: 1c white and 3/4c wheat flour instead of all white flour, 3/4 brown and 3/4c white sugar instead of all white sugar and 1/3c orange juice (I used fresh squeezed) instead of the water. I also added about a tsp of vanilla extract, 1-2 tsp of orange zest and a little freshly grated ginger for extra flavor. I HATE sweet potatoes, but could not stop eating these muffins. They taste like pumpkin muffins. You would never know they have sweet potatoes in them. These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Had to use up extra sweet potatoes, so we tried this recipe. Tasted exactly like pumpkin bread. Did have a bit of an overpowering baking soda? taste. But a delicious overall bread! I left out the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
It was very easy and fast to put together. I used baby food sweet potatoes instead of cooking and mashing. I took my first one out of the pan before it was cool enough - it made the load break in half. Always let it cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Great Recipe! I made some changes which are NOT a mark against the original recipe, just personal preference. Used all unsweetened homemade applesauce instead of oil. Used 1/2 cup white sugar, total. Increased cinnamon times 2. Added 1/2 cup Oats plus 1/2 cup (shredded) Coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by what_she_said

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is the best. I took out all the "white" and subbed whole wheat flour, brown sugar, and applesauce. It was delicious and I gave it out to my fellow yogis and they all want the recipe now. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States