Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made it exactly as written the first time and it was fantastic, but 5 stars-worth when I added 1/4 tsp lemon oil and a cup of chocolate chips. This sent my guests into ecstasy and has my hubbie asking me to make it again. Lemon oil is not the same as lemon extract, so if you use lemon extract, use 1 Tbsp and reduce the liquid by the same amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
**** great taste with the 1/2 tsp allspice added, but too moist in middle with 1 stick of butter in place of oil. Otherwise tasted really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honbrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Great, I used leftover sweet potatoes for this, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Doubled the recipe. Some changes were: 2 cups white and 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup of applesauce, 4 eggs, whole wheat flour, 2 tsp baking soda, salt, 2 tsp cinnamon, 2 tsp vanilla, a little less than 1 tsp nutmeg, water, and 2 1/2 cups of organic yams. Family loved it. Ended up with 3 large loaves and all devoured within 2 days between 3 adults. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Great recipe! Did like other reviewers suggested and used half brown sugar and half white sugar. I also couldn't find my nutmeg anywhere, so I used allspice instead, and did what I always do for sweet breads and used unsweetened applesauce in place of oil. Turned out great. I just made it last night, and this morning it is all gone, my kids and hubby loved it as much as I did! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Tasty! I added apple juice instead of water and alot more spice it baked a little longer than a hour for me. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Koons

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I was not a fan at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Awesome bread! It's actually exactly the same as my pumpkin bread recipe except for the amount of salt and of course using sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin. It is moist and delicious and a great way to use up leftover sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I dont know after having this if I will ever make Pumpkin Bread again... Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Yummy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States