Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Wonderful! I decreased the sugar by 1/2 cup and split it brown sugar/white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnSuiter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Wonderful, moist, flavorful --- just plain YUMMY!! I left out the nuts and added chocolate chips and/or coconut. I also increased the amount of cinnamon and nutmeg. Was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Reduced the sugar and skipped the pecans. Exactly what I was hoping for. Tastes like pumpkin bread. Why does the sweet potato turn green after a few hours? Not very appealing to take to a bible study, but I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Per other reviewers' suggestions, I reduced the sugar some (and used half brown) and used applesauce instead of oil. I also added 1/2 t. allspice. A winner! It makes great muffins by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Yummers! I used a cup and 1/2 of yams and only one cup of white sugar, but 1/2 cup of brown sugar.... so moist and yummy! p.s. there is nothing healthy about this recipe, so don't fool your self. It's like saying chocolate covered strawberries are good for you because it has 'fruit' in it. *sure*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Just a few changes to suit my taste: 1)used half white sugar and half brown. Makes for a richer taste and the brown helps retain moistness. 2)half oil and half applesauce to reduce the fat. 3)added some vanilla. 4)used orange juice instead of water (also how I help sweeten my baked yams and apples). bake as directed and serve warmed with a little butter. It makes for a great morning meal or snack. And sweet potatoes are a good source of vitamins. Never mind the sugar :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Tasty but it actually could have been a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Scrumptious! The texture is perfectly moist. I used a stick of Imperial margarine in place of the oil & reduced the sugar to 1 cup - half white and half brown. Thanks for your recipe, Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westwego, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This bread is awesome. I took the advice of other reviewers and decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup white and 1/8 cup brown. I substituted pumpkin butter for oil like other reviewers suggested. For the flour, I used 3/4 cup wheat, 3/4 cup white and 1/4 cup oat. I baked this in square silicone baking cups and it came out cute, like little mini loaves. I thought this would be too similar to pumpkin bread, but it's different enough to stand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This loaf is wonderful! It has a moist slightly dense texture like a sweet potato pound cake. Great for fall weather! And it is easy to make. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Foust

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States