Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Doubled the recipe. Some changes were: 2 cups white and 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup of applesauce, 4 eggs, whole wheat flour, 2 tsp baking soda, salt, 2 tsp cinnamon, 2 tsp vanilla, a little less than 1 tsp nutmeg, water, and 2 1/2 cups of organic yams. Family loved it. Ended up with 3 large loaves and all devoured within 2 days between 3 adults. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Great recipe! Did like other reviewers suggested and used half brown sugar and half white sugar. I also couldn't find my nutmeg anywhere, so I used allspice instead, and did what I always do for sweet breads and used unsweetened applesauce in place of oil. Turned out great. I just made it last night, and this morning it is all gone, my kids and hubby loved it as much as I did! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Tasty! I added apple juice instead of water and alot more spice it baked a little longer than a hour for me. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Koons

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I was not a fan at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Awesome bread! It's actually exactly the same as my pumpkin bread recipe except for the amount of salt and of course using sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin. It is moist and delicious and a great way to use up leftover sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I dont know after having this if I will ever make Pumpkin Bread again... Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Yummy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Awesome recipe! My husband loves pumpkin bread, but it always gives him heartburn, this bread is our new pumpkin bread replacement! It's very moist and tasty, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Fabulous! I doubled the recipe & altered it. For the sugar: 1 cup of brown sugar & 1 cup of white sugar. For the oil: 1 cup of apple sauce. I then put half of it in a loaf pan and the rest in pan that is for 9 mini loaves. The large loaf cooked for an hour and 15mins. The mini-loaves ONLY cooked for 35mins. Make sure to watch them in your oven! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was sooo good! I used half brown sugar half white sugar. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States