Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Photo by Loves2Bake
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This was so yummy! A couple of changes I made: I used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 white sugar and substituted walnuts for the pecans. Next time I will put batter into two pans so that it will bake faster. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Bake
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
We tried a yam (which is biologically similar but different from a sweet potato) for dinner tonight and no one liked it. So I used it up with this recipe. I cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup and used dark brown sugar. It was plenty sweet. I added about 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla, and subbed 1/2 cup sour cream for the 1/3 cup water. Made 12 muffins. It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kle_sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willowdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
These are wonderful! I did substitute applesauce for the oil and used 1/2 br. sugar and 1/2 white sugar. I plan on making muffins next w/ this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
added 2cups sweet potatoe and 1/4c more flour and 1/2tsp of baking pwdr. and a little more water as to make 2 loaves. excellent and will make more often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Excellent bread. Moist, dense and just the right sweetness. Has become a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Englewood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Simply delicious! Even if you are not fond of sweet potatoes, this is a winner. Extremely moist and made a huge hit! I have received more requests for this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Very tasty. I'll definitely be making this again to use any leftover sweet potatoes. :-) I had to modify it a bit because I didn't have oil. I used 1/2 cup butter flavored Crisco, and it still came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
We really liked this moist, tasty bread. I did follow the recommendation to use half white, half brown sugar. It took the full hour to cook and I would suggest flouring the pan after greasing. I will definitely make this again next time we have "leftover" sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrscatschool

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Toooo oily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Great recipe! I added a little maple extract (maybe a teaspoon or so) for some extra sweetness...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States