Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
My bread came out a little dry and brittle. I would replace the oil with 1/4 cup of butter and only cook for about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Fantastic Bread! I use 3/4 cup white sugar & 3/4 cup brown sugar. And while you should use a toothpick to test it if it's done. Everytime I've made this, it takes 65 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jog Dish
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Seriously Delicious! I made a double batch using 2 cups ww flour and 1.5 cups ap flour, and decreased the sugar to 1.75 cups, I used non-fat plain yogart instead of oil, and used 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice. This is a new favorite, Thanks for the amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was very good, though I made several changes. Just used 1 cup of brown sugar, 3/4c of white flour, 1c whole wheat flour, 1'4c ground flax seed, increased cinnamon to 1tsp, added 1/4tsp cloves, used about 1 1/2c mashed sweet potatoes (leftovers from dinner a couple nights ago), and didn't put in any nuts. It still came out sweet enough for us- as a matter of fact, my 2 1/2yr old son took a bite out of it while it was cooling on the kitchen table! I'll make it again, and probably substitute applesauce for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courtneybee81
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Yummy! I keep playing around with this recipe. This last time I added a small can of shredded pineapple. In all my bread recipes I also use applesauce in place of half of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes Lammon
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was an amazing recipe that was easy to make and taste great! All my friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I used leftover baked sweet potatoes, half & half brown & white sugar, canola oil, added in 1/4 tsp of allspice to the other spices and substituted orange pineapple juice for the water. I omitted the nuts, since I'm on a budget, and it was delicious without them. Since I probably used more potatoes than the recipe called for, it looked like I had too much batter for a loaf pan, so I poured it into a large round cake pan and baked for 45 min until a toothpick inserted into the center came out clean. My husband loved this. The streusel and cinnamon sugar ideas sound interesting, too, I might try one of those toppings sometime. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I loved the flavor of this bread. Next time I will try replacing some of the oil with water or milk or add some more dry ingredients because my bread came out too gooey and wouldn't fluff/firm. But otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Very tasty. I followed the reviews and used applesauce instead of oil and apple juice instead of water. I also used pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon and allspice. I also added kind of a struesel topping-1/4 c brown sugar, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1T melted butter. I sprinkled that on the top and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Good. it was VERY moist and it never looked done in the middle though tasted done. took longer than stated to cook but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States