Sweet Potato Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This was my second time baking a bread. It turned out perfect. I pretty much followed the recipe except I used butter instead of oil. I cooked it at 300 but that was to adjust to my oven which is off. It turned out moist, looked amazing, taste sweet and slightly seasoned. I like it with tea. The next time I will add vanilla. Oh I almost forgot I swopped out 1/3 of the white cane sugar for light brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I make this often. Everyone who tries it loves it! I use half white, half brown sugar. I use applesauce in place of oil. I omit the pecans. I use the sweet potatoes that are yellow on the inside (not orange, not yams). GREAT RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tosweet09
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I. . WE LOVED IT!!!!!??????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ady925
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This was an awesome recipe. I substituted parts of the flour with a combination of chia, oatmeal, and flaxseed; and parts of the white sugar for brown coconut sugar. And all the oil with applesauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Delicious!! Added about a 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and it was even better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly. I noticed a lot of people who gave this 5 stars made modifications... While the bread was very moist, I felt it lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Great recipe. Moist, flavorful, easy to make. Mixed up a sweet cream cheese spread to spread on slices for a breakfast treat. Will bake this in small loaves for Christmas gifts along with a small container of the spread. Love it. This is a recipe I'll bake again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Modified for GF. Used half brown sugar, subbed coconut oil, added 3/4 tsp xanthan gum as recommended on the GF flour package, and used almond milk instead of water. Result was moist, light, beautiful, fragrant, and... Only ok. I love sweet potatoes so I had my fingers crossed. Maybe when it fully cools I'll love it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Grammer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This was my first time to ever cook Sweet Potatoes! I followed the recipe exactly as instructed...It was super easy to make & delicious. Looooved it!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Made this for a work project & they loved it. I used 1/2 cup brown/white sugar & applesauce for the oil. Used about 1 1/2 cups of fresh mashed sweet potato & 1/2 cup milk, instead of water. I cooked the sweet potato the night before and kept in the fridge overnight. Some of the reviews said it was a runny batter. Mine was thick, maybe due the cold potato? It definately needed a longer cooking time 60-70 minutes, I checked it often. I loved the pecans in it. Everyone else thought raisins would be great. It is a very dense heavy bread. I made 2 loaves & the 2nd loaf was not eaten right away. 3 days later we ate the other loaf & it was just as moist & delicious as the first one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States