Sweet Potato Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
A really interesting and tasty soup. I replaced two of the sweet potatoes with carrots when I realized I didn't have as many leftover baked sweet potatoes as I thought. Still a delicious recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
This was a wonderfully creamy soup. I served it with a crusty baguette bread at a 5 course meal to a bunch of girls at camp. They loved it! It was missing something, however. I never quite put my finger on what it was actualyl missing, but something was a little off. It was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2000
This is a very exotic soup: the spices give it a wonderful Middle Eastern flavor. Its thick enough that it could almost be used as a party dip with pita bread... Guaranteed to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Man 'o Man! What a treat on a cold winter night. I made this bisque for a pot luck but I couldn't help sneaking a bowl before taking it to my sister's place. Bland? I think not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This was good. I did it with about 9 sweet potatoes (no regular potatoes), about 6 or 7 cups of milk and no water or chicken stock, a cup of apple juice, subbed garam masala, chili powder,fresh grated nutmeg, & cumin for the other spices. Added a little brown sugar at the end. It was just sweet and spicy enough for us. I think the buttermilk was the only thing i kept, and it was good. I just added some vinegar to a couple cups of milk and put that in at the end after pureeing. I will keep this but I would never make it with just water. I like creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bitchin Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
I switched the numbers for the potatoes and sweet potatoes so that there are more sweet potatoes. I also used 1 10 oz. can of broth and cut the water to compensate. Cut the thyme and add 1/4 to 1/2 cup chopped cilantro, 2 tsp paprika, 1/4 tsp. curry powder and 1/4 tsp. cinnamon. Increase the buttermilk to 1 1/2 cups. Garnish with cilantro and sour cream instead of chives. Brilliant. This had a great color and consistency. I expected a more earthy, filling quality, but it's even better the next morning. You could make it entirely vegetarian by using vegetable broth. Oh, I forgot to mention that I do this in the slow cooker: Peel and chop your root veggies and let them cook in the broth on high for 4-6 hours. Reduce the heat to LOW, add the spices and buttermilk and cook for another hour. Use an immersion blender to purée it all. It's easier than transferring it to a traditional blender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I had a sweet potato bisque when I was back in college that reminded me a lot of pumpkin pie -- I was hoping that this recipe might get me something similar. I made a few changes to start -- I upped the number of sweet potatoes to 4, and regular potatoes to about 2.5. I used regular baking potatoes, but I think Yukons might work better next time. Along with the onions and garlic, I sauteed about a 1/3 cup carrots. I decreased the water to 6 cups, and made up the difference with chicken stock. After the spices were added, I also added about 3/4 cup brown sugar (slightly too much), about 1 generous tablespoon cinnamon, and a full pint of lowfat buttermilk. While the spices do give this dish a zing, the sweet potato flavor is sorely lacking. I will likely up the number of sweet potatoes next time to 5 or 6, and definitely cut back on the amount of regular potatoes, nutmeg and thyme as they were a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Probably only used about 8C of liquid and replaced half of that with chicken stock (just added more water until it was a consistency we liked). Also used 4 sweet potatos and 3 large white potatos. Very nice and lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
i added a few extras like cloves, carrots, cinnamon and sugar. nice consistency, and excellent flavor, thanks for the guide!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I expected more flavor from this recipe. The taste of the sweet potatoes was minmal even though they were roasted to carmelize the sugars and enhance the flavor. The ratio of broth to water should be bit higher. I added a little brown sugar and hot paprika later which raised the recipe from 3 to 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States