Sweet Potato Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2000
This is a very exotic soup: the spices give it a wonderful Middle Eastern flavor. Its thick enough that it could almost be used as a party dip with pita bread... Guaranteed to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2000
I found this to be a little bland. Perhaps could have used more broth and less water?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
A really interesting and tasty soup. I replaced two of the sweet potatoes with carrots when I realized I didn't have as many leftover baked sweet potatoes as I thought. Still a delicious recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Man 'o Man! What a treat on a cold winter night. I made this bisque for a pot luck but I couldn't help sneaking a bowl before taking it to my sister's place. Bland? I think not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
I switched the numbers for the potatoes and sweet potatoes so that there are more sweet potatoes. I also used 1 10 oz. can of broth and cut the water to compensate. Cut the thyme and add 1/4 to 1/2 cup chopped cilantro, 2 tsp paprika, 1/4 tsp. curry powder and 1/4 tsp. cinnamon. Increase the buttermilk to 1 1/2 cups. Garnish with cilantro and sour cream instead of chives. Brilliant. This had a great color and consistency. I expected a more earthy, filling quality, but it's even better the next morning. You could make it entirely vegetarian by using vegetable broth. Oh, I forgot to mention that I do this in the slow cooker: Peel and chop your root veggies and let them cook in the broth on high for 4-6 hours. Reduce the heat to LOW, add the spices and buttermilk and cook for another hour. Use an immersion blender to purée it all. It's easier than transferring it to a traditional blender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I had a sweet potato bisque when I was back in college that reminded me a lot of pumpkin pie -- I was hoping that this recipe might get me something similar. I made a few changes to start -- I upped the number of sweet potatoes to 4, and regular potatoes to about 2.5. I used regular baking potatoes, but I think Yukons might work better next time. Along with the onions and garlic, I sauteed about a 1/3 cup carrots. I decreased the water to 6 cups, and made up the difference with chicken stock. After the spices were added, I also added about 3/4 cup brown sugar (slightly too much), about 1 generous tablespoon cinnamon, and a full pint of lowfat buttermilk. While the spices do give this dish a zing, the sweet potato flavor is sorely lacking. I will likely up the number of sweet potatoes next time to 5 or 6, and definitely cut back on the amount of regular potatoes, nutmeg and thyme as they were a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
The proportions on this seem very off. The recipe says it serves eight but it made a lot more than that. This sounded really good but turned out quite dissapointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
This was a wonderfully creamy soup. I served it with a crusty baguette bread at a 5 course meal to a bunch of girls at camp. They loved it! It was missing something, however. I never quite put my finger on what it was actualyl missing, but something was a little off. It was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Sorry, just wasn't for me. I don't even think that it was the recipe necessarily. I guess I just don't care for this in general. I found it to be rather drab and just not worth it. (I like sweet potatoes, but they just don't seem to be enough to pull off a soup.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This was good. I did it with about 9 sweet potatoes (no regular potatoes), about 6 or 7 cups of milk and no water or chicken stock, a cup of apple juice, subbed garam masala, chili powder,fresh grated nutmeg, & cumin for the other spices. Added a little brown sugar at the end. It was just sweet and spicy enough for us. I think the buttermilk was the only thing i kept, and it was good. I just added some vinegar to a couple cups of milk and put that in at the end after pureeing. I will keep this but I would never make it with just water. I like creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bitchin Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States