Sweet Potato Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by ~MOMMY~
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Am I the only one that thought these were too salty? I'm a big fan of salt, but even I thought it was a bit much. Otherwise, they were pretty yummy, and yes, a bit flat. Mine only got about a quarter inch taller than the original dough cut-outs. Overall - good, but I'll be trying other similar recipes before I make this one again...just seems to need a little "tweaking"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I've made these twice now and my husband and I just wolf them down! They're even great reheated in the microwave with some butter the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This was a good recipe. The first time I tried it, the biscuits came out dry. So this time, I doubled the butter (which is what i used instead of shortening), added an extra teaspoon of baking powder, I also eyed my milk as the recipe suggested only adding enough to make it into a ball. I also left my sweet potatoes a little undone so i had little flecks of sweet potatoe pieces cooked nicely in the biscuits and cooked them a little slower on 375 instead of 400. they came out very nice and tender. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RasheedsWife

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Not bad. Mine didn't cook enough in the middle even after additional oven time. Next time, I'll make smaller biscuits & flatten them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
These biscuits are really good. And very pretty. Nice consistancy. I didnt give it a five because I didnt think they were fantastic. I would take the other reviewers advice and add something to them. Next time I will add more baking powder reduce the salt and add some spices and brown sugar. I made them to go with beef stew so they will be great. Easy to make, and all the ingredients are on hand....will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bernardsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
mmm, i'm eating it right now. i used margerine instead of shortening and added a little extra baking powder (to help it rise, after reading the reviews), about a half tablespoon of brown sugar, some cinnimon, allspice, and nutmeg. i microwaved the sweet potato for 10 minutes after poking holes in it and wrapping it in a damp paper towel to soften it. i give it 4 stars because the flavor is still not fantastic, and i don't think it would have been very good at all without the additions. note: make sure you add milk slowly. i didn't use the full 1/4 cup, and that's probably why some people have trouble getting their biscuits light and fluffy. add milk until everything just sticks together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Yum, yum:) I really liked these and I normally don't like sweet potatoes. I will be making this again and again!:) Thanks for sharing!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I have made these biscuits again and again. Even my husband who hates sweet potatoes loves them. I use half whole wheat flour and they always turn out tall and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
These were ok but not great. My dough was a little hard to handle so I formed the biscuits by dropping a tablespoon full on my cookie sheet. I would not be in a rush to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
mine turned out flat and tasteless, i must have done something wrong. i did use 1/2 whole wheat flour so that may have been the problem. may attempt again, but probably not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States