Sweet Potato Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I don't think I would make these again. They were pretty flat and very salty. I was disappointed because they looked so promising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2009
I followed the advice of other reviewers and upped the amount of baking powder but they still wouldn't rise. AT ALL. So they were flat and dense. Flatter even than the posted recipe picture. Having said that, the flavor was good, and everyone enjoyed them anyway. I also used buttermilk instead of regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This recipe might be the best I've found. No matter who tries them, I end up walking away with requests. No matter what the event I'm asked to bring these biscuits. Lovely texture, I do add cayenne or paprika in lieu of cinnamon for dinner, but I love the original buscuit with a little lemon curd in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Oh, lordy. Are these heaven! I used buttermilk, that was the only change I made. These were gone right off. No leftovers! I did my best to not overhandle the dough and used the top of a fat jelly jar to cut out my biscuits. Very, very good. I tried one bite and ended up inhaling a whole one before I made myself stop. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
So good and so EASY!!!!! I had one piping hot right out of the oven. Oh jeez, these are evil! I slathered the second one with chili honey butter and almost died and went to heaven! These will definitely be added to my recipe repetoire. I'd like to experiment with freezing the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Wonderful light biscuit.......Substituted butter for the shortening and used 4 T instead of 2....Incredible with "All Day Apple butter" recipe.Has become a holiday favorite in our home...Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Copley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
these turned out good...almost like a cookie. I did double the butter as one review had said, added 1 more tsp. baking powder, used half white flour and half whole wheat flour, splenda in place of white sugar, and I topped them with a little spinkle of brown sugar. I served with honey butter and my kids were fighting over them. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was a pretty good recipe. However, I added just a couple of things. I used Cake Flour instead of all purpose flour. (A pastry chef onnce told me to use cake flour and not all-purpose flour when baking.) Also, I used canned sweet potato and added about a teasponn of vanilla extract and some cinnamon while mashing!) Also, for shortening, I used butter-flavored crisco. I will make again, but I think I might add a touch more baking powder. They were a little flat, but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvmac2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I gave this recipe five stars because it is now a staple bread item for me. I love sweet potatoes, and I am always looking for ways to cook with them. I make up these bicuits on the weekend, and I use them in my lunch with a salad and some fruit for the rest of the week. For me, the dough turns out a little more sticky than it may for others. I add more flour to the dough after I have turned it onto the bread board until I get it to the consistancy I like. The biscuits bake up very nicely, and they taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy A. Cramer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe. I made the recipe as-is and the result was a perfect, moist biscuit. The sweet potato really adds a great flavor, but it doesn't outright taste like sweet potatoes. I made this to use up sweet potatoes that were about to turn and knowing that made the mashed sweet potatoes pretty bland with no added ingredients like cinnamon, etc. I would def make this again. The only thing I did different was to drop the biscuits by spoon rather than cutting them because the batter was a little sticky, plus the rustic look is nice. I like my baked goods to look homemade rather than from a Pillsbury can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by althee921

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States