Sweet Potato Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Scrumptious. I used butter instead of shortening and my food processor to cut the butter in with the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
These were easy to make vegan, I did not need any milk but was prepared to use soy milk. We found them to be tasty and pillow soft. Would be a nice addition for any meal. I kept all the ingredients in the refrigerator until I mixed per the directions. I have linked it on my site so other vegans can enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
We loved these I mashed the potatoes with a little butter, cinnamon and a little sugar. We'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana To Ten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DivaJ
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
These came out great (as I finish my second)!! I followed other's suggestions such as using 4 tsp of brown sugar (I'll use 5 next time), not even 1/2 tsp of salt, just a pinch, 4 tsp of baking powder and 3 tbsp of butter. You won't really even need a 1/4 cup of milk. Pour slowly and a little at a time so that it doesn't become soupy. These came out fluffy and light. LOVE them!! Next time I'll add raisins, but not the extra tsp of brown sugar so they won't be overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivaJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Pretty good but a bit bland. Used butter i/o shortening and still needed to add butter when eating them. Needs another ingredient to make it a five-star recipe. Will try brown i/o white sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is an excellent sweet potato biscuit recipe. I made these for Thanksgiving 2012 and again for New Year's Eve dinner 2012. I doubled the recipe the second go round because everyone loved them. I did make one small change in the recipe: I added about 1/4 cup brown sugar to the recipe to give it a little sweeter taste. They seem to get better each time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This worked out ok. Nothing spectacular. My husband liked them. I subbed butter and margarine for the shortening. I only had about a half teaspoon of butter and the rest of the 2 tablespoons i used margarine. I dont bake often so this is out of my comfort level. Good enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
My grand kids love these...there were so easy to prepare and were light and flaky..I added a little more butter in that No vegetable shortiening was available... I used 3/4 stick of butter chilled and cut into cubes..it make for a more flakier dough and also added a little more of the sweet potato to give it more flavor...thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chae's Aphrodisiac Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jharmon40
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I thought this was a good base recipe. I did substitute Buttermilk for the milk and added some sharp cheddar cheese & chives to the mixture. I also used butter and not shortening (just personal preference!) They turned out fabulous. I served them with thick cut ham slices and apple butter! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States