Sweet Potato Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was the 2nd Thanksgiving that I've made this exact recipe. I had to add crushed cornflakes TO THE potato mixture, and that helped firm it up a bit. I never thought of chilling it for awhile. I love this recipe, and so do my picky inlaws!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
IF you BAKE the potatoes before peeling them instead of boiling them, the mixture is a bit drier and sticks together better. Also, I tried rolling them in nuts(pecans) and in a mixture of nuts and a crushed FROSTED cereal, a little sweeter crunch with the frosted cereal topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
YUM! This recipe is really good! Making the potatoes into balls was a little challenging as mentioned, but after chilling it in the fridge for a while, it was workable. The only problem I had was that the marshmellows kind of disappeared from the inside. I made these ahead and froze them and then had to cook them longer, so maybe that's why. The marshmellow flavor was still there though and they were GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
These tasted wonderful, but I also absolutely could not make balls out of the mixture. I had blobs, and trying to roll it around in the corn flake crumbs was impossible too, I kinda put the crumbs on the blobs. And it seemed to work out. But what I will do next time, and it should be noted for others as well, is stick the mixture in the fridge for a while so it can be made into balls. Other than the difficulty shaping and rolling, these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I don't know if it is just me, but I could not shape these into balls to save my life. I ended up just making regular sweet potatoes with this mixture. They were good, but I was disappointed that I couldn't make the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Something wrong with this recipe. I had over 3 individual cups over flowing of sweet potato chunks when I made this recipe. So granted should have been over 4 cups worth. After adding everything per instructions. This recipe was extremely wet and un-pliable to form any sort of ball. I had to cook off another 3-4 cups of sweet potato just to get it thick enough to form, using leftover large orange Halloween marshmallows for the regular large ones in this recipe. Mine also didn't stay in the oven 10-12 minutes and they were exploding and almost flat before plating. Taste-wise, they were okay. Would I attempt this recipe again. I'm sorry to say no. This recipe needs a binder to hold shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This is just like my Grandmother used to make. A word of caution: Take a few minutes off the baking time so the marshmallow in the middle doesn't evaporate. Otherwise its wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
THESE ARE A HIT...I HAD TO CHANGE THEM UP A BIT THOUGH. INSTEAD OF CORNFLAKES I USED GRAHAM CRACKERS, COCONUT, AND CASHEWS. THEN WHEN THE BALLS GAVE ME TROUBLES I PUT THEM INTO FOIL MUFFIN CUPS. MAKE SURE YOU SPRAY THEM FIRST. YOU CAN MAKE THEM UP AHEAD OF TIME AND FREEZE TOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I liked the flavor of this, but the ball of potato look did not go over well in this house. The corn flakes were a nice touch for the first serving but these do NOT reheat well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
The flavor of all the ingredients together was pretty good, but I must have done something wrong in the execution - they did not turn out well at all. Maybe to me the wording was ambiguous, but I rolled the potato mixture around the marshmallows and then rolled them in cornflakes. When they baked, the marshmallows melted and I was left with flat sticky chewy lumps. They tasted alright, but looked hideous and were hard to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States