Sweet Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I've been making this for the past 5 years for Thanksgiving. My entire family loves it. I usually do use less sugar than it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I didn't use nearly as much sugar but it was AMAZING. The whole fan loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
The picture is misleading as that is clearly a phone pic from the Texas Roadhouse. I managed there for six years,the signature white plate baked swwet yam and if you zoom in you can see the wood grain table. Nice try not to mention this is a casserole recipe not a baked yam recipe. it tasted okay but I was put off by the false advertising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This has fast become one of my favorite comfort foods. I use a few substitutions, namely brown sugar for white sugar and coconut oil in place of most of the butter- otherwise it is so perfect! Really hits the spot for breakfast or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made this tonight, I had to omit the topping due to someone's mouth sensitivity. I added 2/3 cup of light brown sugar to the sweet potato mixture and baked for 35 minutes at 400. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjawshewa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
If you are a sweet potatoe eater, you have to try this. Cut the sugar in half. It was delish. Great dish to take for potluck. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Excellent! I substituted walnuts, because that's all I had. Substituted oats for half of the flour and cut in 2 Tbsps butter before putting on top and used 2 Tbsp less butter in sweet potatoes. Cut back a little on sugar. Also added a tiny bit of ground ginger to sweet potatoes - maybe 1/8 tsp. I could have eaten the whole thing! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is a yummy dish. I put everything in my stand mixer and let the machine do the work for me. My dad later told me that he bakes his sweet potatoes, which is much easier than cutting them (they're so hard!) and boiling, and it also makes for a firmer texture. Also, I made my dish the night before since I had so much cooking to do. I wish I would have waited to put the pecan topping on just before cooking instead of letting it sit overnight - I think it would have been better that way. My man and 2 year old son loved this, of course - it tastes like dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This recipe was a total hit for Thanksgiving even with those who don't like sweet potato. I did double the recipe and add a cup of unsweetened coconut that I divided between the sweet potato and the topping. This will be a Thanksgiving and Christmas tradition from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NURSENIKKI2004

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
My favorite recipe so far. It is very similar to a recipe my mother used for years but the orange adds a special touch. Did not add the white sugar as suggested - definitely would have been too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States