Sweet Potato and Fennel Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Sweet, savory and a little spicy! I love a good Brinner (breakfast for dinner) and this was a good way to change it up. I used sausage instead of bacon, left it in the pan; green onions instead of fennel and Courvoisier cognac instead of whiskey (it was either the good stuff of the tequila left in the liquor cabinet). Final touch, dash of cayenne. Topped it off with an over easy egg. So. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by madisonbopbop
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I skipped the fennel and yellow onion and instead used green onion, asparagus and garlic. Also used Jameson instead of Jack Daniel. This was amazing! Boyfriend loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Prepared as written. Awesome. Added it to my handwritten recipe book where only my best and favorite recipes go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
A little too sweet for me, but everyone else loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna Stallcup
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I made this with apple cider instead of whiskey like one of the reviews recommended. It was delicious! One of my guests told me that she hates sweet potatoes, but that she actually enjoyed them cooked this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Stallcup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlexandriaSD
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Soooo good! Used JD Tennessee Honey whiskey. Followed another reviewer's comment to mix whiskey & sugar before adding to vegetables. Had already cooked bacon so used olive oil and skipped Step 1. Probably will add the jalapeño at the end next time for more kick (added with fennel at beginning).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
We forgot the jalapeño, but this was fantastic! We will have to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was delicious! I substituted apple cider for the whiskey and it worked great. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This was a pleasant surprise! I didn't have Jack Daniels nor a jalapeño pepper and used scotch whiskey instead. I don't think scotch was much different from using Jack but perhaps I will try it with Jack and a little jalapeño next time. I loved the fennel flavor with the sweet potato. It was a southern cooking twist to a couple of root veggies. The bacon, onion and fennel aromas were so nice when starting out. Advice: Don't let the potatoes get too soft and mix the brown sugar together with the whiskey before pouring it over the veggies. Wait for the sauce to Thicken a bit., If you like a little "kick", I am sure a bit of diced small jalapeño would have been a nice touch. I just wouldn't 'add too much so as not to overwhelm the taste of the fennel and sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lareinamab
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Changes I made: double the bacon, two sweet potatoes, half a bulb and the stalks from fennel, no onion, no jalapeno. I prefer my sweet potatoes to be savory, and I needed to use up leftover fennel so this was a nice dish. Boyfriend gives it 3 and a half stars, but says he would make it again. It didn't wow me enough for 5 stars, but I thought it was pretty good and I would probably make it again if I had the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States