Sweet Potato and Curried Red Lentil Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I was very skeptical about this pizza, but it turned out great! The lentils were very mushy, so I just mixed them in with the veggies. I used yams instead of sweet potatoes and added a bit of nutmeg. I also added more cheese than it called for and also topped it off with some longhorn goat cheese. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This is great with out the crust and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I spread the mixture over the equivalent of 2 crusts as others have sggested. I used extra sweet potatoes to replace the omitted eggplant. A 1/2 lb. of mozzarella cheese replaced the romano cheese called for. We loved the spices! This is a great pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
i thought it was great and i love onions so that made it more better than it was :] hahaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
one of the best recipes we've ever made! we were making this vegan and couldn't find a ready-made crust that was vegan so we substituted wheat pita bread and decreased the cooking time. came out wonderfully. takes a little work but absolutely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I'm rather new to being a vegetarian and to cooking in general, but I found this recipe easy and delicious!!! I substituted diced tomatoes and some balsamic vinaigrette and it was one of the best meals I've ever had. I tried it on mini pita pizza crusts and it was good and I ate the leftovers without the bread which was also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Excellent pizza! I did everything pretty much as explained in the recipe, except I used mozzarella and goat cheese to give it a little kick. I also used whole wheat pita bread instead of pizza crust. It makes really good individual pizzas and everyone can modify it to their liking. To use pitas, cook 10 minutes on a pan and then an additional 3-5 minutes directly on the rack to make it a little more crispy. Goat cheese works really well with this pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I think there is a mistake in the directions. The submitter states that she uses a "curried red lentil sauce" in place of tomato sauce but the directions call for it all to be stirred in together. I came up with nothing but mush. It still tasted good but the texture was a bit off-putting. Next time, I'll try frying up the onions, garlic, spices (which is more traditional Indian style) and add the lentils to that. Then make the sweet potato/eggplant mixture on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This was very interesting! I liked it, even though the flavors were quite unusual for pizza. The Romano cheese I got was a bit stinky, and I almost liked it better under the cheese. If you have sweet potato and eggplant to use up, I would recommend trying this at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Unusual and wonderful! I loved that it was vegetarian but my family is full of carnivores so I added some cubed left over chicken. I could eat the topping just on its own without the crust, it's just wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States