Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I recently bought and prepared some sweet potatoes, wondering if I still hated them as much as my childhood memories told me I did. The roasted sweet potatoes I made with them were a vast improvement, but neither Hubs nor I were fond enough of them to eat them again. So what to do with the four or five baby sweet potatoes I had left? I chose this recipe, thinking I might as well embrace the sweetness of the sweet potatoes in something like this rather than fight with them in another savory vegetable side dish. And if it wasn't for having these leftover sweet potatoes I never would have experienced this simply excellent bread. Hubs would never have tolerated the coconut or the nuts, but since he wasn’t about to eat anything “Sweet Potato” anyway, I included them both. As I measured out the cooked, mashed sweet potatoes, I found myself about 1/3 c. short (1/2 recipe). Not a problem–I just grabbed a jar of strained baby food carrots and used them to make up the difference. I liked this –it’s moist, not as heavy as other breads of this type, not as sweet (and I liked that!) and is delicately spiced (and I liked that too). I also liked the flavor only butter can impart. Until I made this I probably would have thought it similar to pumpkin bread, but it’s really not. It’s lighter and brighter in color, almost like mango, and has a flavor all its own. Not sure I’ll buy sweet potatoes again, but as this recipe’s first reviewer I can tell you I couldn't have been more pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe! I didn't have any walnuts, or any other nut for that matter, but it still was good. This is so moist! I made a few smaller sized loaves, and they were done in about 50 minutes, so make sure you adjust the time if you decrease the size. I also added a handful of chocolate chips in one of the loaves - mmmmm, that was also really good if you like chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
My mom loved it so much, she actually asked me to make 4 loaves. It that delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I loved this! It turned out perfect! Not too sweet but very filling. I didn't add any nuts but I think it would taste great with them. Other than the 1/3 cup of baby carrots I added when I ran out of sweet potato, and the lack of nuts, I didn't change the recipe at all and it was very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Hi all. I've chosen 5 here so as not to bring down the overall rating, but I have questions before I try. Yams and sweet potato's are 2 different things. I myself am guilty of loosely calling a yam a sweet potato and vice versa although they do look a bit different and one is sweeter than the other. My guess is either would work in this? 2..is the coconut the sweetened type? I may just try both and decide on my preference but I'd like to give the poster a fair review based on the ingredients required. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Switched out the walnuts for pecans, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It's delicious - not overpowering one way or the other as far as taste goes. Not too sweet, not too cinnamon-y - very nice quick bread that uses up sweet potatoes when you've got extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I followed the recipe as written only substituting pecans for walnuts. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I love to bake pumpkin bread, but have never tried making sweet potato bread before. My first thought was, "YUM!" This bread has all the best flavors of autumn, and is incredibly moist and satisfying. Because I like to eat breads like this for breakfast, I tweaked the ingredients to make a more wholesome and nutritious bread. I used white whole wheat flour, replaced the 2 cups of white sugar with 1 cup of sucanat (natural dehydrated cane sugar), and replaced the butter with applesauce. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Very good! I've also made this with mashed very black plantains with equally good results ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Great recipe! I baked a large sweet potato the night before and only got about 1 3/4 cups of potato so I used canned pumpkin to make up the rest. The potatoes didn't mash very well so I pushed them through my potato ricer and they came out great. I used sweetened coconut since it was all I had on hand and it worked well. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States