Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I recently bought and prepared some sweet potatoes, wondering if I still hated them as much as my childhood memories told me I did. The roasted sweet potatoes I made with them were a vast improvement, but neither Hubs nor I were fond enough of them to eat them again. So what to do with the four or five baby sweet potatoes I had left? I chose this recipe, thinking I might as well embrace the sweetness of the sweet potatoes in something like this rather than fight with them in another savory vegetable side dish. And if it wasn't for having these leftover sweet potatoes I never would have experienced this simply excellent bread. Hubs would never have tolerated the coconut or the nuts, but since he wasn’t about to eat anything “Sweet Potato” anyway, I included them both. As I measured out the cooked, mashed sweet potatoes, I found myself about 1/3 c. short (1/2 recipe). Not a problem–I just grabbed a jar of strained baby food carrots and used them to make up the difference. I liked this –it’s moist, not as heavy as other breads of this type, not as sweet (and I liked that!) and is delicately spiced (and I liked that too). I also liked the flavor only butter can impart. Until I made this I probably would have thought it similar to pumpkin bread, but it’s really not. It’s lighter and brighter in color, almost like mango, and has a flavor all its own. Not sure I’ll buy sweet potatoes again, but as this recipe’s first reviewer I can tell you I couldn't have been more pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
My mom loved it so much, she actually asked me to make 4 loaves. It that delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I followed the recipe as written only substituting pecans for walnuts. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Switched out the walnuts for pecans, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It's delicious - not overpowering one way or the other as far as taste goes. Not too sweet, not too cinnamon-y - very nice quick bread that uses up sweet potatoes when you've got extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe! I didn't have any walnuts, or any other nut for that matter, but it still was good. This is so moist! I made a few smaller sized loaves, and they were done in about 50 minutes, so make sure you adjust the time if you decrease the size. I also added a handful of chocolate chips in one of the loaves - mmmmm, that was also really good if you like chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I loved this! It turned out perfect! Not too sweet but very filling. I didn't add any nuts but I think it would taste great with them. Other than the 1/3 cup of baby carrots I added when I ran out of sweet potato, and the lack of nuts, I didn't change the recipe at all and it was very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Very good! I've also made this with mashed very black plantains with equally good results ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I love to bake pumpkin bread, but have never tried making sweet potato bread before. My first thought was, "YUM!" This bread has all the best flavors of autumn, and is incredibly moist and satisfying. Because I like to eat breads like this for breakfast, I tweaked the ingredients to make a more wholesome and nutritious bread. I used white whole wheat flour, replaced the 2 cups of white sugar with 1 cup of sucanat (natural dehydrated cane sugar), and replaced the butter with applesauce. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Great recipe! I baked a large sweet potato the night before and only got about 1 3/4 cups of potato so I used canned pumpkin to make up the rest. The potatoes didn't mash very well so I pushed them through my potato ricer and they came out great. I used sweetened coconut since it was all I had on hand and it worked well. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Very nice moist loaf. I substituted 1/2 the butter for coconut oil and enjoyed the enhanced coconut flavor; also substituted 1/2 c of white flour for flax flour. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Sweet Potato Buns

The perfect taste, texture, and appearance for a hamburger bun.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States