Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Dang girl, this is really a wonderful bread. I love love love the combination of the sweet potato, and coconut...and the spice level is great. I left out the nuts, I find they distract me when I am enjoying a quick bread. I made it in a loaf pan and it was perfect. Next time I may fancy it up in a tube pan, but it is a beautiful thing even when it is loafing. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
We made this into muffins. It made 2 1/2 dozen. My family had them for breakfast all week. Really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
What a treat this was...Moist and yummy. The only change I made was to add Raisins. it was so quick and easy too I would def. make this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tonirjenkins
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Made it as written, substituted 1/2 the flour with wheat and 1/2 the sugar with splenda. So delicious even my 2 and 4 year olds liked it. This will definitely go on my make again list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This loaf is not sweet and is very dense. I just took some out of the freezer from last year, and it froze very well. I believe I made a half recipe at the time. Now I'm thinking that maybe coconut oil could be worked into this bread somehow, possibly replacing some of the butter. A delicious loaf and distinctly different from pumpkin bread that can be too spicy sometimes. Thanks Maybelle, nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
While this was simple to put together and it baked up just fine, I thought the flavor was just "OK."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sdasilva76
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I tweaked it a little but it was unbelievably good. I used half butter and half coconut oil, a little less sugar and sweetened flaked coconut (it was all I could find). I also left out the nuts and added some craisins. My friends and family can't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Parkland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I MADE THIS BREAD AND REALLY LIKE THE DENSE TEXTURE.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Very nice moist loaf. I substituted 1/2 the butter for coconut oil and enjoyed the enhanced coconut flavor; also substituted 1/2 c of white flour for flax flour. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Great recipe! I baked a large sweet potato the night before and only got about 1 3/4 cups of potato so I used canned pumpkin to make up the rest. The potatoes didn't mash very well so I pushed them through my potato ricer and they came out great. I used sweetened coconut since it was all I had on hand and it worked well. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States