Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup with Cardamom Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I served this as a first course to a fancy dinner party. Everyone loved it. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of added more water/broth to improve the consistency. Since I used cayenne, I served yogurt with fresh dill on the side. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Making just a few changes to accommodate the vegetarian in my house and to tweak to our taste, this soup was easy to make and had a very nice balance of flavors. Changes: I used low sodium vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, increased cinnamon from 1/4 tsp to 1/2 tsp, added ~ 1/2 tsp each salt & fresh ground pepper, and added ~ 2 tsp sugar. Easy and tasty, but makes WAY more than 4 servings. It also does make a thicker soup, but the thickness fit the richness of the spices. The warm flavor was great for a chilly night and was soothing for the cold I had when I made it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
In place of cinnamon and cardamon I used 3 tsp. garam masala which is a spice mix containing coriander cinnamon, cardamon, cumin, and black pepper. I also had to add a great deal of water to get a nice consistency and after eating a bowl I thought the flavors could be enhanced more with butter, salt wasn't enough. Sorry if you're watching your diet. With those adjustments I give it 4 stars. This recipe is a nice start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Delicious! I did not have tumeric, so I put in a little Tandoori spice in addition to the other spices. I used fresh ginger, freshly ground cardamom seeds and a little black pepper. The only other change I made was to blend half of it and leave chunks for a hearty stew like consistency, and I doubled it for left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was a really good recipe! I added a clove of garlic but I think it'd be better without it. I substituted half of the butter for olive oil, added a pinch of brown sugar, and substituted coreander since I didn't have cardamom. It's a bit spicier than I thought it would be, but a good balance. I added some crushed pita chips on top when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was a really hearty and tasty recipe! I even used half a bag of frozen carrots to save time and didn't notice a difference in flavor. Also added four cups of stock instead of the water and skipped the red pepper flakes, so my version probably had a little more salt and a little less kick --- but it was still plenty spicy. Served it with plain yogurt to ease the burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOODCHICK23
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Loved it, with minor adjustment. I also needed to add about 2 more cups of stock (veg was nice) to keep it from resembling baby food. Tried leftovers the next day adding a little coconut milk. Not bad, but I like it without better. Delicious, try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODCHICK23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I made this for dinner. The taste was great but I felt it needed a bit more spice and it was really really thick. I toasted some pine nuts and shredded some aged parm. cheese and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This is a very tasty soup because of the spices. It's a perfect soup for a cold Fall or Winter day. The two little changes I will do next time is to add the hot spices at the end while blending so that you can test taste. Mine was a little bit too hot. I think I would also do a creamy version next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
We really liked this soup. It has some good spice. I am interested to try a creamy version and add coconut milk. We will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jarvis, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States