Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup with Cardamom Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was an excellent soup! I added a splash of cream at the end to add some texture and it was just brilliant! Quite spicy if you overdo the ginger and spices, but that's fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This soup is awesome! Complex flavors, excellent texture, it's even healthy. I am a huge fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This soup was very good, though a little too spicy for my 9 year granddaughter. Next time I will cut down on the spices a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Dray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Wonderful soup/puree. This is so healthy and had a lot of great flavors. The perfect soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I made this for a quilters retreat at the lodge that I cook for and tripled the recipe to feed 30 guests. Even the non sweet potato fans loved it and the smell was wonderful. I omitted the chili flakes as I was warned that some of our guests didn't like "spicy" food, but the end result was still really good. I liked that you can play a little with ingredient amounts as vegetables are all different sizes as well. And it held in the soup tureen for 2 hours with no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martese houle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I LOVED this. It is EXACTLY what I was craving! Mind you, I didn't really follow the recipe as far as proportions... I just used left over cooked sweet potato and cooked carrots from a holiday meal, but everything else I followed properly. : ) It was fantastic! I will DEFINitely be storing this recipe away for future use! The spices give a lovely Indian mood without being just like a curry soup. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bowbreath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Simple and flavourful...comfort food at its best! I sauteed garlic with the onion and as others suggested decreased the cardamom just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I only put this as 4/5 because I made some changes out of necessity cause I didn't have everything. I used half an onion, only one sweet potato, and I used curry instead of tumeric in the spices and it still turned out great! I can't wait for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
First time cooking with cardamom. I'd use less cardamom next time. Other than that the soup was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mes777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I love this soup! I also have it on cool gray days when I want to be cozy. I am a fan of cardamom always so I wouldn't decrease the amount at all. Also added a bit of garlic and use fresh ginger if I have it on hand. Chicken stock does give it a little more roundness. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginadt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States