Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup with Cardamom Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This soup was very good, though a little too spicy for my 9 year granddaughter. Next time I will cut down on the spices a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Wonderful soup/puree. This is so healthy and had a lot of great flavors. The perfect soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I made this for a quilters retreat at the lodge that I cook for and tripled the recipe to feed 30 guests. Even the non sweet potato fans loved it and the smell was wonderful. I omitted the chili flakes as I was warned that some of our guests didn't like "spicy" food, but the end result was still really good. I liked that you can play a little with ingredient amounts as vegetables are all different sizes as well. And it held in the soup tureen for 2 hours with no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martese houle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I LOVED this. It is EXACTLY what I was craving! Mind you, I didn't really follow the recipe as far as proportions... I just used left over cooked sweet potato and cooked carrots from a holiday meal, but everything else I followed properly. : ) It was fantastic! I will DEFINitely be storing this recipe away for future use! The spices give a lovely Indian mood without being just like a curry soup. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bowbreath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Simple and flavourful...comfort food at its best! I sauteed garlic with the onion and as others suggested decreased the cardamom just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I only put this as 4/5 because I made some changes out of necessity cause I didn't have everything. I used half an onion, only one sweet potato, and I used curry instead of tumeric in the spices and it still turned out great! I can't wait for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
First time cooking with cardamom. I'd use less cardamom next time. Other than that the soup was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mes777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I love this soup! I also have it on cool gray days when I want to be cozy. I am a fan of cardamom always so I wouldn't decrease the amount at all. Also added a bit of garlic and use fresh ginger if I have it on hand. Chicken stock does give it a little more roundness. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginadt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
pretty good. i also would decrease the cardamom a bit, otherwise great flavor and spice. i did add a bit more broth at the end, as it was pretty thick. Served it with grilled cheese the first night, and over brown rice for lunch the next day. flavors really developed overnight, and it made great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I like the taste of cardamom a lot, but I think it overpowers the rest of the flavours in this soup. The red pepper flakes add a very nice tingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States