Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup with Cardamom Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This soup is so delicious! I dont add the red pepper flakes and I double the amount of carrots and sweet potatos but keep the spice measurement the same. I have children and originally reduced the spice for them but I really like it this way. I normally eat very spicy food. I just think the reduction in spices to veggie ratio tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I substituted all the liquid called for, water and chicken stock for vegetable broth. I also used approx. 1 and 1/2 boxes (32 ounces a box) of veggie broth. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Great soup! I left out the cardamom because I didn't have it. I also used another cup of chicken broth and I'm glad I did - it was nice a thick, but would have been too thick without the extra broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I love love love this soup. It's become a go to for nights when I don't feel like cooking, or having a heavy meal. The recipe itself is great because if you play around with spice addition it still always tastes good (so far anyway!). In terms of modifications, I always use fresh ginger and add fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This soup was so totally awesome! It was like nothing I have ever tasted before but it satisfies every craving. Sweet, salty and spicy! I just added extra crushed red pepper to make it a little spicier. Thanks for this awesome find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rainyk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Good, added chickpeas and rice and had as a main dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I enjoyed this very much. The golden orange made a beautiful presentation. The sweetness from the onions, carrots, and sweet potatoes made a mellow flavor profile, while the seasonings added just the right amount of exotic interest to make this soup memorable. Be aware, the red pepper flakes and cayenne do give it a little bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
My husband and 4 boys said it was worthy of 'Master Chef' and kept asking for more! I didn't have an onion but will add it next time. What an easy want to feed a family. I did double the recipe as it only serves 4. Served it with slices of bread, but would serve some nice multigrain rolls next time. Update: Added the onion this time and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ludwigsix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This recipe has a gorgeous color, comforting aroma and wonderful flavor. I followed the recipe exactly as written. While I loved this soup, I found myself starving after two bowls and filled up on bread to compensate. It's not substantial enough to be an entrée, but makes a great starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I thought this recipe had potential, but I didn't have any cardamom. I did have coriander so I used that. I doubled the amount of chicken stock and the soup was still pretty thick. At the end I added the zest and juice of an orange. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States