Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I made this following the recipe to the letter and it came out absolutely perfectly. The sweet potatoes add such a richness, and it has perfect amount of kick from the jalapenos without the spiciness overwhelming the other flavors. It was also quite filling. Looking forward to making this one of our staple winter dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This recipe is superb! Used a mixture of orange & purple skinned (yellow inside) sweet potatoes called kumara in New Zealand where I'm from. Used two cans of Delmaine Black Beans in Chilli Sauce plus two cans of diced tomatoes so only added 1 tsp chilli flakes & third of a sachet of taco seasoning. Cut the cumin down to 1 heaped tsp. Other ingredients the same but different brands. What a beautiful, velvety chilli! The prep is worth it but have made it ahead of time to get all the flavours when friends arrive tomorrow night. Will serve with steamed rice & salad. Omitted the sugar & water. Thankyou Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is a awesome recipe! I had trouble finding ancho chili powder so I used a chili powder I found in the Mexican food isle. I will defiantly make again!!! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Great recipe for three favorite foods--goes from 4 to 5 star with meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This recipe is excellent, and for the meat lovers (like myself) I added a cooked rotisserie chicken towrds the end and let it simmer. YUM!!! :) P.S. You might want to roast extra sweet potatoes, I couldn't stop eating them when they came out of the oven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Yum.yum.yum. Deeelicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This is an awesome recipe! Since I didn't have chipotle or ancho chili powders, I just used my regular Kroger chili powder and a dash of red pepper. I also added a can of drained corn. Simply scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Judd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Truly wonderful!!!Made without jalapenos and yogurt instead of sour cream. My 3 & 4 year old's loved it as well as my husband. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Burkert Wisley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Having recently turned vegan due to a heart attack i was glad to find this recipe.The roasted sweet potatoes are awesome by themselves had to force myself to stop eating them after they came out of the oven.I followed the recipe pretty much as written but i didn't add any jalapenos instead i pureed chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and add a little at a time till i think it's at the correct spiciness.Next time i may add some mushrooms or corn this is such a good base for endless modifications ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Carson Ausburn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This was great!! The only thing I changed was to omit the sugar, and I seeded & chopped the jalapeno... it wasn't over spicy at all, and everyone (including my carnivore husband) loved it. Thanks for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States