Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I LOVE this chili! I've made it at least once a month for the past couple years and everyone who tries it loves it, too, even people who religiously eat meat chili. My boyfriend was hesitant about it and didn't think it'd be filling. I usually increase all the seasonings a little bit and add some frozen corn at the same time as the beans and potatoes and serve it with a piece of cornbread in the bottom of the bowl, the sweetness of the cornbread compliments it soooo well. This is definitely a keeper, and it's pretty cheap to make as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hugadandylion

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Excellent recipe! I'm laughing at those who think 1 jalapeño and a pinch of cayenne is too spicey in like a gallon of two of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly as written! Loved it and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I just recently went vegan and this Chilli beats anything I ever made with meat. I'm a single person so I half the recipe and this gives me two hearty servings or 3 moderate ones. I wouldn't change a thing. The ancho chili powder can be found online at spice barn and I've noticed target has it in their market pantry brand. It's worth it to source both the ancho and chipotle. Makes all the difference. One of my absolute favorite recipes from this site. This is on my menu rotation at least twice a month
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by winterSun
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I tried this recipe!!! Awesome, awesome, awesome. Starting the beginning of this year, I became a Nutritarian and I was thinking about vegan/vegetarian recipes I could add to my diet, and I just happened to have this one in my email, I clicked on it and decided to try it, I am so glad I did it was totally awesome! I love it. I kept thinking it had meat in it. It was so good and flavorful with just the right amount of kick. It was even better the second day. I had some left over and I froze it, about a week later I came home and wanted something I could eat quickly and I warmed it up, my biggest regret is that there wasn't a bit more of it in the container to fully enjoy. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winterSun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This chili is awesome! My daughter prefers vegetarian meals, and she could eat this every day. My six year old son loves it, too, even though he claims to "hate" sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I've made this several times now, and it's become my go to vegetarian chili. My family prefers a smooth sauce, but I didn't want to lose the red peppers. My solution has been to roast a whole pepper while I'm roasting the sweet potatoes. I make the tomato base without bell pepper, puree it, and then add in the beans, roasted peppers, and sweet potatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by audraa86
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I omitted some spiciness due to other comments, and it was AMAZING. A new staple in my house for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Have made it twice awesome. Added Chickpeas and put it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Homosassa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I have made this twice. Once for an office potluck and once for a dear friend who has turned vegan!!! It was a hit both times. Roasting the sweet potatoes not only helps keep their shape in the chili but also brings out their flavor. No, I did not follow the recipe exactly. Used a single ghost pepper the first time - SPICY!!! Added lime juice just before serving. Skipped the sour cream. For my friend, just used a smaller amount of chili powder. Used one red and one yellow bell pepper and skipped the sugar and cocoa powder. Terrific Recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preeti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States