Sweet Potato and Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I've never used a sweet potato in a smoothie before, but we all thought this was crazy good. I microwaved the sweet potato, peeled it, and then put in the freezer along with a banana for about an hour. They were chilled, but not frozen, so I added some crushed ice to the blender. I used Silk light vanilla almond milk (which I like for cereal) and served this with a dollop of whipped cream sprinkled with cinnamon. With the addition of the ice, this was enough for three of us for lunch today. Really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Ayanna
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
OMg!!! I love love the taste.. I use almond/coconut milk and a tip of honey soo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
super yum! I used coconut milk (the drinking kind, not the cooking kind) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P24FERGUS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I love this, I used OJ instead of milk. You can also add some protein powder and even some ground flaxseed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Smail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I would have never thought to use a sweet potato in a smoothie but it turned out delicious! Getting my vitamin A and potassium in one drink-fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This was fantastic! I did alter it slightly - no milk on hand. I used vanilla almond milk and pumpkin pie spice rather than just cinnamon. I also added 6 ice cubes to make it frostier. The best smoothie I think I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Just tried this smoothie. I used a frozen banana and low fat milk instead of soy and used a little honey. Not bad even hubby said it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I used regular lowfat milk instead of soy and I added a touch of brown sugar and pure vanilla extract. I was surprized, this was actually quite good and the kids liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I think just about any fruit or vegetable like this can be blended with a banana and turn out well. I followed the recipe exactly at first. The only change I made was halving the recipe and using frozen banana. I thought it was fine but kind of reminded me somewhat of a thick pumpkin pie filling before it is cooked. So, I tweaked it to taste. I threw the other half of the banana in the blender, added a splash of vanilla, and 4 ice cubes for half the recipe. I got 2 servings. I did do the microwaving the day before. The 10 minutes was accurate with my microwave. I also tried the smoothie with or without the whipped topping garnish and it was fine either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This was overall very good, and healthy! I peeled my sweet potato and then cut it up and boiled it. Ready in 7 minutes. I like my smoothies more thick, so I used 1/2 c. of almond milk and a 1 c. of ice. You can also add your protein powder or flaxseed. If you have a sweet tooth, top with some whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States