Sweet Potato and Apple Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Just lovely! I served this with my first ever Thanksgiving meal cooked by myself. It was the perfect appetizer and the flavors were awesome. I think I used a little extra cheese on each, but really, who wouldn't?!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courtney86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I love this soup! For those that said you couldn't taste the apple I wonder which type of apples were used? I usually opt for tart green apples and find the flavour to be just present, but not overpowering. I use slightly less broth (4 cups) to avoid having an overly watery soup and I always leave out the cream entirely - the soup is so yummy, there's simply no need for it. I've made this soup a few times now, and the only changes I made aside from those mentioned above is adding three small-medium carrots, if they're on hand, and putting goat cheese on top before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Really tasty. Quite thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nick
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Fantastic Fall soup! Rather than garnishing with goat cheese, parsley is a nice alternative. To really spice it up, add cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Just made this for the 3rd time (I was finally able to use a bay leaf and an immersion blender!). I LOVE IT! I think this is the best soup I have ever made and couldn't be more proud to serve it to my family on Thanksgiving. I have never added cheese to the top - I don't think it needs it - but followed the recipe to a T otherwise. Keep to the directions and you'll have a sweet-yet-savory winner on your hands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mell42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Everyone in my family LOVED this, even my 8 month old. I used 3 apples, cored and sliced with a corer before baking, then they peeled easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I boiled the sweet potatoes and apple instead of cooking them in the oven. I omitted the carrots. I used vitamin D milk. I also pureed the feta with the rest of the mixture. I used 24 oz. sweet potatoes because that's what I had. Turned out fine. I got 7 large servings out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Wonderful soup! THRILLED with this recipe as a base. I omitted the cream and the lemon and used only one tablespoon oil. No cheese needed. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Solacina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is excellent, but it's definitely a taste for experienced palates. I've varied the salt from none to a TB, and it's delicious both sweet and savory! I did leave out the lemon, and dumped everything but the cream and feta in the crockpot (then added them just before serving): easy peasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I liked this soup. I left out the carrots and lemon because I didn't have any, but I think the carrots would have helped with the flavor. I'll try it without the cream next time to cut the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States