Sweet Potato and Apple Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Extremely tasty, only reason it wasn't a five star was I found there was a little too much lemon flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I love this soup! For those that said you couldn't taste the apple I wonder which type of apples were used? I usually opt for tart green apples and find the flavour to be just present, but not overpowering. I use slightly less broth (4 cups) to avoid having an overly watery soup and I always leave out the cream entirely - the soup is so yummy, there's simply no need for it. I've made this soup a few times now, and the only changes I made aside from those mentioned above is adding three small-medium carrots, if they're on hand, and putting goat cheese on top before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
A great, hearty soup, but next time I would opt to omit the lemon: it was just a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nick
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Fantastic Fall soup! Rather than garnishing with goat cheese, parsley is a nice alternative. To really spice it up, add cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I enjoyed this soup, but I had a difficult time getting it to a soup-consistency and not having little carrot bits in it. I used a braeburn apple, which may not have been tart enough. I used vegetable stock to keep it vegetarian, and this worked fine. Since some reviews said there was too much lemon, I mixed lemon juice with cranberry, and this worked well. Also added some cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Yum! I changed a few things, mainly due to ingredients I didn't have on hand. I had no chicken stock or cream, so I used water and added 1 Tbsp of soy sauce to each cup of liquid (an allrecipes ingredient substitution suggestion). I used a few tablespoons of lemon juice and doubled the apple. I served it in Taste of Home's Bread Bowls (recipe available on allrecipes). We really enjoyed it. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Everyone in my family LOVED this, even my 8 month old. I used 3 apples, cored and sliced with a corer before baking, then they peeled easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This is a great soup to serve in the autumn time, it warms you right up! I love how simple it is, and it has lots of great vitamins and nutrients. If the lemon is too much, try a small lemon or perhaps less juice. The apple is awsome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
My family and I didn't care for this at all. I followed the recipe exactly, but it still was not something we cared for. I didn't even like it enough to try to play around with it to see if I could make it more suitable for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This was good. I couldn't taste the apple, so if I made it again I'd probably use 3 instead of one and leave one of them cut in pieces instead of blended in with the rest of the ingredients. I added garlic and a bit of pepper and nutmeg to spice it up a bit. Perfect for a chilly fall or winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKIEMARIE
Home Town: Waubeka, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States