Sweet Potato and Apple Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
wow this is super weird. others were right about the carrots not blending well, which i've never experienced before. here's what i did, aka what not to do: didn't use the full lemon, but put in a bit of lemon juice. used two mac apples and two carrots. used beef broth. didn't use any form of cream or milk. liked the goat cheese though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I used three sweet potatoes and excluded the lemon as suggested by others. I almost wish I'd included the lemon just to know whether that might add a little extra to the soup as otherwise the soup tends to be a little on the bland side. However ours could have been bland from the extra sweet potato, and salt and pepper helped bring out the flavors a lot. I used feta as the garnish and would have preferred something different, such as perhaps grated parmesan or a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I boiled the sweet potatoes and apple instead of cooking them in the oven. I omitted the carrots. I used vitamin D milk. I also pureed the feta with the rest of the mixture. I used 24 oz. sweet potatoes because that's what I had. Turned out fine. I got 7 large servings out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
3 stars as is. Too much lemon for my taste, just like many others stated. Made a few adjustments of my own which I really loved: 2 Granny Smith apples Used about 1/4th of what was called for for lemon Added a bit of cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, ginger, brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisquig
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Great blend of flavors. Needs to be in the blender on liquify until you don't see anymore carrot chunks. I used a couple red delicious apples but next time I will try a more tart variety for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Nine Mile Falls, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I agree with the others - omit the lemon - it really does overpower the soup. I used the feta cheese and also omitted the salt as I thought the feta would add enough of its own salt. I couldn't taste the apples and that was fine with me. I used unsweetened almond milk instead of cream to lower the calories. I will make this again and maybe try to hide some greens in here to get more veggies into the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momee3021

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
it was good but i can't figure out what it is missing.. needs a spice other than nutmeg?? i will keep testing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I enjoyed this soup, but I had a difficult time getting it to a soup-consistency and not having little carrot bits in it. I used a braeburn apple, which may not have been tart enough. I used vegetable stock to keep it vegetarian, and this worked fine. Since some reviews said there was too much lemon, I mixed lemon juice with cranberry, and this worked well. Also added some cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This soup was a HIT! Even my husband loved it, and he doesn't like sweet potato. I gave this a 4 star because I forgot to add the lemon...Next time I make this, I will add less salt and more apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jilldushey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Wonderful soup! THRILLED with this recipe as a base. I omitted the cream and the lemon and used only one tablespoon oil. No cheese needed. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Solacina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States