Sweet Potato and Apple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Excellent, IF you tweak a bit. The combination of sweet potatoes and apples is sublime. Golden Delicious is the best type to use since it's texture and firmness is similar to the Sweet Potato. Definitely BAKE your potoates first (locks in the sweetness and vitamins!), cool, then slice. I also sliced my apples, then cut again into bite size pieces and it cooked perfectly. No need to layer the sugar in between. Just melt the butter (1/2 c. is enough)& spices and drizzle over the top. Good dish to make ahead of time and put into the fridge. Just let it sit at room temp. for a few hours before baking and you're good to go. This is such a nice change from the marshamallow topping and so much lighter! I always get raves and requests for this dish, which I've been making for the past 5 yrs. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
396 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Used a combo of suggestions and it came out perfect. Try this: Boil the potatoes in skins until fork tender, about 20 minutes. Cool, peel and slice into greased casserole dish. Using only 1/2 cup of brown sugar total, mix remaining ingredients except apples and butter. Top potatoes with 1/3 sugar mixture. Mix apples (1/4 inch slices cut into 8 pieces each) with the remaining sugar mix, spread over potatoes. Drizzle the melted butter over the top. Bake for 20 min, stir gently and drizzle with 1 Tablespoon melted butter if mixture seems dry. cook 15-20 minutes more. Great flavor combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
I made this for Easter dinner and everyone wanted the recipe! Next time I might cut down on the amount of sugar, but I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
The potatoes need to be cooked very soft before baking. I left them firmer than they needed to be since I thought they would soften up a little more while baking, but they didn't. Other than that, the dish was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This is the second year making this tasty dish. I find that I have to cook it for about an hour on 350 degrees. I adjust the time and oven temperature as needed. I know it's done when it begins to brown. I use golden delicious apples. This meal is so easy to prepare, inexpensive and tastes so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Excellent!! We forgot to peel the apples and my young "assistant" sliced them RATHER thick, but it all still worked fine. I would be sure to slice the apples very thin next time. Also, I might even use "half moons" of apple instead of "rings" to make serving easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Took this casserole for Christmas dinner and got rave reviews! The only problem I had was the topping didn't say whether to melt the butter or cut it in so I cut it in. The apples looked like they were drying out while cooking so I added a little butter to the top during the cooking. Next time I will melt the butter and see how that works. Definitely a keeper! I used Granny Smith Apples and everyone thought they had a wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
found this last year at my inlaws place, and everyone loved it when we made it. Make it fairly regularly, and the only part that is a problem is the caramelized sauce. I find it better NOT to put in the flour, as it seems to make the sugar clump gloopily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This was a good dessert dish. I must say it was a bit too sweet however. Personally, I would omit the sugar between layers, add the spices to the topping and use a bit of that between layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This is wonderful!!!!! Everyone in my family who like sweet potatoes (I'm a recent convert to them) loved this dish. Even my mother-in-law (who doesn't like them) was tantalized by its cinnamon-y aroma into tasting it and she proclaimed it delicous. My notes to the recipe - (1) use MEDIUM size sweet potatoes to avoid excess potatoes after assembling the casserole; and (2) for families, like mine, who have those disliking pecans (or just nuts in general) -- I halved the pecan halves so they could remove them easier. The top layer of apple rings (I used "Cameo" apples) made this dish very eye-appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States