Sweet Potato and Apple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
As good as a sweet potato dish could ever get. Usually never a hit, this dish got quite a good reception, even though I left it in the oven for a little too long and the sweet potatoes got overcooked (forgot that they were already fully cooked when dish is put together). Streusel topping a little hard to spread so maybe decreasing the melted butter would help? Don't bake until ready to eat because reheating doesn't work on this dish. Thanks for a sharing a good obligatory sweet potato dish -- it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mozart lover

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I searched everywhere for a recipe before I picked this one. I made for Thanksgiving and it was a hit! My mother-in-law, who has thousands of recipes, asked for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Made this recipe at Thanksgiving. It was absolutely wonderful. I didn't think I liked sweet potatoes, but I guess I do! We followed it exactly. We refridgerated it after we prepped it so we baked it a bit longer than recipe calls for. Worked very well that to put in oven as turkey was resting and being carved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Very good. The apple/potato combo is a nice alternative to a regular sweet potato cassarole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I made this for our Thanksgiving Dinner tonight and it was wonderful...had nothing but rave reviews on it....this is definetly going to be a keeper for future family gatherings. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Very tender. Not too sweet. Just right. I used Jonagold apples. Next time I will double the ingredients for the topping. Definatly keeping this one in the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cherokee Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This was very easy to make and looked pretty besides. Tastes more like a dessert than a sidedish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I made it with Granny Smith apples and yams (we prefer the flavor and texture of yams over sweet potatoes). Next time I would use a softer apple, like a Golden Delicious, to better match the texture of the yams. My elderly parents thought this was the best flavor on a plate full of great stuff. I liked it a lot too. My husband came away "without getting a sweet potato experience." He prefers savory flavors to sweet, dessert-ish ones like this, and would undoubtedly rate it a few stars lower. Savory lovers would probably do better to move on. Everyone else should try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLEPUFFY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
found this last year at my inlaws place, and everyone loved it when we made it. Make it fairly regularly, and the only part that is a problem is the caramelized sauce. I find it better NOT to put in the flour, as it seems to make the sugar clump gloopily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This is the second year making this tasty dish. I find that I have to cook it for about an hour on 350 degrees. I adjust the time and oven temperature as needed. I know it's done when it begins to brown. I use golden delicious apples. This meal is so easy to prepare, inexpensive and tastes so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States