Sweet Potato and Apple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Excellent, IF you tweak a bit. The combination of sweet potatoes and apples is sublime. Golden Delicious is the best type to use since it's texture and firmness is similar to the Sweet Potato. Definitely BAKE your potoates first (locks in the sweetness and vitamins!), cool, then slice. I also sliced my apples, then cut again into bite size pieces and it cooked perfectly. No need to layer the sugar in between. Just melt the butter (1/2 c. is enough)& spices and drizzle over the top. Good dish to make ahead of time and put into the fridge. Just let it sit at room temp. for a few hours before baking and you're good to go. This is such a nice change from the marshamallow topping and so much lighter! I always get raves and requests for this dish, which I've been making for the past 5 yrs. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
396 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This was a good dessert dish. I must say it was a bit too sweet however. Personally, I would omit the sugar between layers, add the spices to the topping and use a bit of that between layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Took this casserole for Christmas dinner and got rave reviews! The only problem I had was the topping didn't say whether to melt the butter or cut it in so I cut it in. The apples looked like they were drying out while cooking so I added a little butter to the top during the cooking. Next time I will melt the butter and see how that works. Definitely a keeper! I used Granny Smith Apples and everyone thought they had a wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
My husband is very picky eating sweet things, but he loved this recipe and the favor of the apples!!! I'm cooking this right now for my company pot-luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancycs

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Puerto Ordaz, Bolívar, Venezuela
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
The potatoes need to be cooked very soft before baking. I left them firmer than they needed to be since I thought they would soften up a little more while baking, but they didn't. Other than that, the dish was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Excellent!! We forgot to peel the apples and my young "assistant" sliced them RATHER thick, but it all still worked fine. I would be sure to slice the apples very thin next time. Also, I might even use "half moons" of apple instead of "rings" to make serving easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
A great recipe . Loved the sweet and tartness of the apples. Have made it twice in the last month. Company that didn't like sweet potatoes loved it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheatfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was easy and really yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleescoolmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
My sister-in-law said this is like having a bit of apple pie without the crust. Really easy to put together the night before Thanksgiving and throw in the oven to warm the next day. I liked the apples with the yams - a variation on the same old marshmallows. I think this one will be a tradition now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States