Sweet Potato and Apple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving dinner and it did come out great. There was barely any left. My only recomendation is to take special notice of the two listings for brown sugar. I didn't realize the 2nd listing was for the topping and almost messed the whole batch up. Whew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzan Toscano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was fabulous. I don't really like sweet potatoes but it was Thanksgiving and you have to have them so I thought I'd try this. Everyone loved it. None of us really like sweet potatoes, but my husband, my sister,my brother-in-law even my kids loved this. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Everyone loved this recipe. I used half the amount of sugar and it was still sweet. I agree that the flour should be left out as it did create a paste on top. Just melt the butter with the other ingredients and pour on top. Also, don't overcook the potatoes and wait until they are cool to slice; otherwise they become a little mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Very good. I have never enjoyed eating sweet potatoes because everyone makes them so sickening sweet. As another suggested, I left the sugar out of the layers (only used nutmeg and cinnamon). Not too sweet at all and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
It was delicious and a nice change from the normal sweet potatos at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RitaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Used a combo of suggestions and it came out perfect. Try this: Boil the potatoes in skins until fork tender, about 20 minutes. Cool, peel and slice into greased casserole dish. Using only 1/2 cup of brown sugar total, mix remaining ingredients except apples and butter. Top potatoes with 1/3 sugar mixture. Mix apples (1/4 inch slices cut into 8 pieces each) with the remaining sugar mix, spread over potatoes. Drizzle the melted butter over the top. Bake for 20 min, stir gently and drizzle with 1 Tablespoon melted butter if mixture seems dry. cook 15-20 minutes more. Great flavor combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This is DELISH!! I followed the recipe as directed except I sliced the sweet potatoes small BEFORE I boiled them, and they didn't take as long. Thanks so much, I'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momto3boys

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Very good, we made it for Thanksgiving and it was a nice alternative to that tired pineapple/sweet potato/marshmallow mess. Even our toddler ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Fantastic! I love this recipe -- and I don't even LIKE sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELENDEIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Excellent, IF you tweak a bit. The combination of sweet potatoes and apples is sublime. Golden Delicious is the best type to use since it's texture and firmness is similar to the Sweet Potato. Definitely BAKE your potoates first (locks in the sweetness and vitamins!), cool, then slice. I also sliced my apples, then cut again into bite size pieces and it cooked perfectly. No need to layer the sugar in between. Just melt the butter (1/2 c. is enough)& spices and drizzle over the top. Good dish to make ahead of time and put into the fridge. Just let it sit at room temp. for a few hours before baking and you're good to go. This is such a nice change from the marshamallow topping and so much lighter! I always get raves and requests for this dish, which I've been making for the past 5 yrs. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
414 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States