Sweet Potato and Apple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I halved the recipe for my husband and I and used 2 small sweet potatoes and 1 Granny Smith Apple, but I kept the topping the same (that's my favorite part!). It was soooo good! This is how I will make sweet potatoes from now on (I'll have to lay off on the topping, though .. ..!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This was great. I had some kiwis on hand so I added them. Next time I will take the advice of some reviewers and bake the potatoes instead of boiling. I'm thinking that way they'll be naturally sweeter and then I'll need less brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I totally agree with mommyfromseattle I took the sweet potatos and put them in a roaster pan and baked them for 25 to 30 minutes prior to baking the dish instead of boiling them. The skin peels right off. I also added oats to the topping mixture and made sort of a sweet potato crumble....it was delish. I cubed the potatos and apples and cooked with the top on most of the cooking time and then took it of for the last 10 minutes to crisp up some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I added juice and zest from 1/2 an orange. Didn't have pecans, so I used almonds - they were scrumptious also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Very good but almost like a dessert - an apple crisp with sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
So delicious! I love the spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I used Fuji apples instead of baking apples and the result was sweet and delicious. The kids and even my mom couldn't stop eating this. Mom even wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I didn't add any brown sugar... I sprinkled the layers with cinnamon sugar after spraying with olive oil. I did end up having to cook it a bit longer... the apples cooked but the sweet potatoes took longer. I love how the flavors all blend without all the sweet! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I used canned yams (what I had on hand) and thought it turned out well. I would use less brown sugar than called for, however, and I wish I had cooked it longer than 30 min (my apples were still hard). Also used walnuts in place of the pecans, which I thought was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMULLARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was absolutely the hit at thanksgiving this year. I did not add the pecans but added more apple. Thank you for my new favorite way to eat yams!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States