Sweet Potato and Apple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This recipe was well received by our 16 Thanksgiving dinner guests. No left overs (ouch). One small change......I added 1 heaping teaspoon of Allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie and Vern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
GREAT! made two layers of sweet potatoes, apples and brown sugar mixture. will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Most excellent! Added maple syrup instead of sugar. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrispy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
YUMMMMMM!! Followed pretty much the recipe, chunked up my apples (golden delicious) and probably used more butter than asked for, but its thanksgiving, so who cares :) will make again. Everyone loved it. Pretty sweet and I used about 1/2 the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I halved the brown sugar as some had suggested and this turned out FABULOUS! A great dish to bring to Thanksgiving dinner! THANKS for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
very easy and yummy. I didn't peel the sweet potatoes and I steamed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I doubled (tripled) the crumble and got rave reviews. Wonderful yam/stewed apple combo for people who don't like pureed muck topped with marshmallows for thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPOILERDAVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving this year and people loved the apples mixed with the sweet potatoes. I made the dish the day before and put it into the refrigerator. I baked in two smaller pans because for part of the recipe I substituted frozen apple juice concentrate in place of the brown sugar for the diabetics in the family. I found out that with the juice I need to bake it longer. I used the previous reviews and baked my potatoes first, then peeled them as they cooled. I used delicious apples for the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I only used half the suggested amount of sugar....would have been too sweet with it all....I also baked the sweet potatoes instead of boiling them and it turned out great...a great addition to Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States