Sweet Pork for Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
This recipe is just like Costa Vida's sweet pork! The only change I made was no water. Throw all ingredients minus the water in at the beginning on higher for 5-6 hours! Shred and enjoy! I never have green chili so never add it. But the salsa makes up for it fine! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shearlove3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Tried this for the first time last week. My husband and I loved it. It was a bit much on the sweetness so next time I'll back off on the brown sugar. I chose to make the salsa separate to add on top of the meat when serving. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
This is absolutely fantastic... I made it the first time as directed, WONDERFUL!!! Second time I mixed it all together in the crock pot added some diced jalapenos and a full pack of fajita seasoning and used Rotel tomatoes with green chilies....let it cook for 8hours on low.... We had burritos and then we also used it on quesadillas with some pepper-jack cheese....EVERYONE loved this.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Shuee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
My husband and I LOVE this recipe! It is super yummy and super easy. Throw everything in the crock pot in the morning and come home to yummy goodness. It works good with chicken too. It is sweet, though, so if you don't like sweet and spicy, you may want to decrease the brown sugar a little. Me, I love sweet, so I'm happy with it the way it is. I do make my own taco seating and fajita seasoning using recipes I found on Allrecipes. No MSG that way. I also don't puree the salsa. I just dump it in the crock pot as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Warner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I cut the brown sugar in half and sometimes I use a mango salsa. This is the only meal my husband requests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April VanSuilichem

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
SUPER EASY RECIPE!!! I bought a slow cooker just so I could try this recipe! I work all day, so I had to change the timing a little (other than that, I made the recipe exactly as stated - I used regular Coke, and 1/2 mild salsa and 1/2 medium salsa because I didn't know how spicy it was supposed to be [we're wimps, we don't like super spicy foods, and we don't eat salsa], and I chopped up the green chili a little finer instead of just dumping it in straight from the can). I started this as soon as I got home from work on Friday. I cooked on High for the first 5 hours (like the recipe instructs), then added all the ingredients and cooked on Low overnight (for 8 hours). Since it was Saturday morning when it was done and I didn't have to work, we made burritos for breakfast! My teenagers and I thought this was really yummy! One boy thought it tasted a little too much like Coke, though, and wasn't as keen on it as the rest of us. Once he said that, I could taste the Coke flavor, but only slightly. Love, Love, LOVE this recipe! The boy who loves sweet pork from Costa Vida / Café Rio says this is the BEST! I'm definitely keeping this recipe - going to make it for the family party at SuperBowl! Thank you for sharing it, Dean!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I really enjoyed this... I cooked it longer. I put the pork in the slow cooker with the water on high for about 8 hours then I went to bed and put it on low. Got up in the morning and took about 2 cups of the water out and saved it. Took my pico de galio and everything else plus only one cup of sugar and added the extra 2 cups of water .... Let it stew for another 4 hours... Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I've tried a few different recipes for sweet pork and I have not been happy but this one was delicious!!! It met my expectations perfectly! I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made this on a whim for a function at my office and I have to say it was DELICIOUS!!!!! Not to mention SUPER EASY!!! I read other reviews and cut down the brown sugar to 1c and it was still plenty sweet. I also used 1cup of mango salsa and 1 cup of mild regular salsa per another review and I thought it was great! I only pureed the regular salsa, but I agree you probably don't need to puree at all. GREAT RECIPE! I"m making it again today for to enjoy with football & friends!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
My husband thought it was great. Me? It tasted good, but like Sloppy Joes in a tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States