Sweet Pork for Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Everyone loved this! that's 4 adults, 4 kids. And everyone agreed it was amazing. I had mine on a bun with coleslaw. The kids did theirs in tortillas with burrito fixings. I don't think you can go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisaperrya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I made this tonight for the first time and it was terrific. I followed the recipe to the tee and just loved it. I couldn't keep my 11 year old out of the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This was fantastic! I did reduce the sugar to 1 cup as indicated in a lot of the reviews and also keep the pork in the sauce to shred and serve. It was a big hit at our family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Did this with Elk, came out FABULOUS !!!! Only used 1 1/4 of sugar, and cooked meat for about an hour less. BEST enchiladas EVER !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Craving Cafe Rio or Costa Vida sweet pork? This is the recipe for you! Soooo Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
My family LOVES this recipe! It is so good on toated garlic buns and the leftover shredded pork is fantastic to use on natchos as well. I usually rub the pork roast with taco seasoning before I put it in the slow cooker the first time and I also add some garlic cloves to the half water/half beef broth that I cook it in. When I made it this last time I didn't have a can of chopped green chillies, so I put in half a cup of salsa verde instead and it possibly tasted even better than last time (not sure if that's because of the salsa verde or something else though). The other thing that I do a little differently is that I shred the pork right in the slow cooker pot and leave it in the salsa sauce and serve it just like that. I had another pulled pork recipe that I used to use which was a little more smokey-tasting than this one, but we like this one better. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Okay, I am the guy who submitted this recipe, and it's a huge family favorite. To cut the calories (and the sweetness factor), I use only 1 cup brown sugar. (Two more notes: you may use diet cola and you do not need to puree the salsa.) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
My whole family loved this last night, which is quite a big deal around here! I followed the recipe (almost) to a tee. I kept the "high" setting even though so many said not to and it was super tender and lovely. The only change I made was cutting the brown sugar down to 1 cup instead of 2 - just seemed like way too much. I thought it was super sweet, and yummy with 1 cup - can't imagine it with 2. Loved the green chiles - I wouldn't skip those. I used Pace picante sauce, Lawry's fajita seasoning and Trader Joe's taco seasoning (which is super spicy). I loved the sweet/spicy combo. I made Spanish Rice to accompany this and ate it without a tortilla. My husband put it on a bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
When my youngest daughter and her family lived in New Mexico, we would ALWAYS go to Costa La Vida Mexican Restaurant for the "Sweet Pork Tacos." I've been looking for an acceptable recipe ever since. And, this one is it!!!! I am so happy. It's easy, it's sweet, and I could take a bath in it. Makes the best Sweet Pork Tacos in the world. Thanks for posting this wonderful pork recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States