Sweet Pork for Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Yummy, we made burritos and quesadillas with this recipe and it is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Made this per the recipe except used 1 cup brown sugar per follow-up review by the original recipe poster Dean and omitted the green chiles. We used diet soda in place of regular soda. It was amazing! So simple to pull together. Cooked the pork on low all day while at work, so there was no need to cut into four pieces. We then added the other ingredients and cooked on high for about 2 hours before serving. The pork was moist and tender and had such a great flavor. Not too sweet or too spicy, just perfect. The leftovers were even great the next day! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I gave this 5 stars because I know it's going to be good. It's cooking, but I made the following changes to mine for convenience and logic: Added everything into crockpot at once and am simmering on high for 6 hrs. Changes I made (for 1 1/2 lb. pork roast): 1 entire packet lawry's fajita seasoning (why: 1 package is for 1 lb. so I added the whole thing), 1/2 cup brown sugar (why: cut in half like everyone else), 3/4 can diet cola (why: I had made another pulled pork recipe that was exquisite that cooked in beer, so I knew I had to cook this in the coke to tenderize the meat). , 7 oz. can green chili's (I didn't half this because it was easier to dump it all in). In general, pork needs a lot of flavors. I omitted the salsa because I used the entire package of fajita seasoning instead (easier). I like flavorful pork! :) I will edit this later if I need to make changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
The tastiest pulled pork recipe I've made so far! Used Peach/Mango/Chipotle salsa- had a great little tang to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn DiGrazia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This was good and sweet. I cut back a cup on the brown sugar and used diet pepsi, it was the only cola I had on hand. It was too sweet, needs some savory added somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Good flavor but not great prep directions. I tried this the way the directions said and just ended up with a tough pork roast that was bland. The second time I did this I first seared the roast (like I normally do) and added all the ingredients right away plus I used the LOW setting on my slow cooker for 8 hours. Much better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Best pulled pork recipe ever. I cut down on the brown sugar only putting 3/4 C. My husband loved it. This is a new favorite. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Fantastic! Made it with the 1 cup sugar and it was perfect! Great for those of us far away from Cafe Rio and Costa Vida and their fabulous sweet pork burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This was amazing! I did use half the sugar and skipped the chilies as it had enough spice for us already. I always puree salsa in recipes like this (personal preference) and that helped blend everything together. I blended some of the juices from the meat into re-fried beans which also went into the burritos, that I then froze and have been enjoying ever since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This is by far my favorite recipe for "taco" night. I have tried it with pork, chicken and even beef. It works best with pork but the other two are nice alternatives too just to switch it up. I tend to add a can of rotel instead of the salsa and I have used diet colas and even dr. pepper. All taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Chapman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States