Sweet Polish Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Easy recipe to make and carry to neighborhood get together. I adjusted recipe to 6 servings because I had 3 lbs of sausage. Reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup instead of 3/4 cup. Used a large Vidalia onion , added 1 garlic clove and hot sauce to taste. Yum! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I used UNCOOKED sausage, NOT smoked or precooked. I removed the casing. Loose meat made into balls works best. I slice up my sausage and let it cook in it's own juices for about 15 mins just to brown and cook half way. It'll finish cooking in the sauce. I omit the water but keep the drippings as the base to add all else to. I simmer covered on the stove, stirring occasionally, keeping it at a low boil, for another 30 min or until it thickens to my liking. Broccoli is a nice add in at the end. I served over mashed potatoes, white rice or wide egg noodles. For a slightly less 'sweet' and 'richer' flavor, cut brown sugar to 1/4 cup and add 1/4 dark molasses. This is how I usually make it. Just an old Southern way taught to me by my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kingsford Cat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
meh because its sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
The recipe calls for overcooking the kielbasa, I think, but the sauce is very good over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
My husband said this is the best sausage he has ever had! I did cut the sugar in half and only boiled about 20 mins. Other than that, followed the rest of the recipe as written. Was amazing!! Thank you for a great twist on kielbasa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Very good!! Followed the recipe as posted, only omitting the hot pepper sauce, just a personal preference. My only change next time will be to cut down on the baking time, I think 1 hour was a bit too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davin, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Very, very good. Didn't use as much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Otzelberger Mannis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somers, New York, USA
Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This is a family favorite. It is also a winner at any potluck I bring it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I took the suggestion of so many others and boiled the sausage for about 10 minutes and then put everything in the crockpot. The only change I would make would be to add more hot sauce but we tend to prefer spicy food. Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaboj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
We loved the flavor of this recipe. I followed DC in TX's suggestion and just put everything in the slow cooker after boiling the sausage for 10 minutes. An hour before eating, I mixed in about 2 tablespoons of cornstarch mixed with some water to thicken up the juice to serve it over rice. The only thing I would do different would be to saute the onions before adding them in; even after 8 hours, they were still crunchy, and we prefer a soft, cooked onion. Someone else mentioned pineapple juice and chunks...sounds like a nice idea too! Great versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States