Sweet Polish Cherry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Yummy! I had 4cups of sour pie cherries so I used them all (cooked with double the sugar) and also subbed butter for olive oil in the batter, and 1 cup yogurt and a little almond extract. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I made this cake for my Polish aunt on her birthday and she and the rest of my family enjoyed it so much. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is spectacular! I usually use sour cherries as I enjoy them more, and I substituted some of the flour with almond flour. It's very easy to make and it's really moist, everything a good cake should be. I really enjoyed that it's not too sweet. If you're aiming for a sweeter version, try adding crumbles on top - also works really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Really good - followed suggestions of others and did the following - doubled the cherries, sugar, and butter they were cooked in, added 1 cup plain yogurt and 1 tbsp vanilla. Next time will add almond extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I used vanilla yogurt instead of plain. Also used 2 1/2 cups of cherries. Served it warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandenburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This really was very tasty. We ate it for dessert last night and breakfast this morning. I had a bunch of sweet cherries from a friend's tree and needed to use them up. My changes after reading other's reviews: I used a full cup of plain greek yogurt, added a tsp almond extract to the batter and increased the cherries to 2 1/2 cups. The only thing I plan on doing differently next time is use even more cherries. I think this needs at least 3 cups of pitted cherries. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
The only change I made was to use sour cream for the yogurt. This definitely is a more dry cake and I like mine a little more moist, so I may experiment and add more sour cream/yogurt next time. Mine was also done at just about 30 minutes, so definitely check it when you smell it baking! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I really screwed this one up the first time through :) Always good to remember to add the sugar! But I also cooked the cherries per the directions and ended up accidentally caramelizing them. So, the second time I made it, it came out pretty well. I used about 2.5 cups of cherries the second time, and simmered them on medium low heat (3.5 on my electric) with 1.5 T of butter and a little extra sugar - rounded tablespoon. This produced a lot more juice. I think if I make it again though, I'd use even more cherries because where it has juice and cherries, it's the tastiest. Also, I pulled it out at 35 minutes instead of the 40 recommended. I think it may have been done before that though - I'll experiment with times for the next time I make it. I'd also probably try adding vanilla and a little dash of salt to bring out more flavor in the cake itself. The cake is not terribly moist, but it's flavorful. It's not overly sweet, and tastes great with ice cream and a drizzle of chocolate sauce. I think it would also be great with whipped cream or a powdered sugar glaze. I think it'd be good with blueberries too - I may try that next time. Update: Made this a 2nd time and added almond extract, used different cherries and added a streusel. Wow! Delicious - moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I found this a little dry and tasteless. Really more like a muffin than a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States