Sweet Pepper Pasta Toss with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I give very few 5 stars, but this one deserves every star! I'd give it ten if I could! This is absolutely wonderful! I made a couple minor adjustments. I used whole wheat corkscrew pasta (couldn't find bow ties at a large supermarket!), doubled the kale and probably tripled the cayenne. Next time, I'll use even more kale. This dish will grace my dinner table weekly as long as kale is in season. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by unix_girl
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I added kalamata olives, zucchini, extra cayenne and extra kale. It was great, but I think it would have been too bland without the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unix_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This is really good! The garlic & the cayenne really compliment the kale. I love the IDEA of kale -- it's soooo healthy -- but don't love the taste, so this recipe addressed that. Make sure you use one "packed" cup of kale, as it really shrinks in the cooking, so more is better here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I used Dino kale, ribs removed, and doubled the amount. I used Barilla Plus penne, and only used 1 red pepper. I also added 4 chopped green onions, green and white parts. I used a little less feta, I love feta but there was a LOT of it there. I always saute peppers first, and then add the rest so the garlic doesn't burn. It was very good. Also, I boiled the pasta in water in which I added paprika, garlic powder and cayenne. I didn't put the cayenne in the dish itself and it was spicy enough for me. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Delicious!! Made a few changes -- tossed the dish with Wostershire, black olives and capers. Gave it a richer flavour -- also added more cayenne; we like it spicy. Wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Was a great dish and was our first experience using kale. We substituted pasta shells. Loved the combination of the pasta, peppers, kale and feta. We used it as a side dish with our baked fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This was very good, but the kale cooks down a lot, so I suggest quadrupling it to 4 cups. I also suggest putting in only half the recommended amount of feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Very good. Grated some Parmigiano Reggiano over it instead of Feta--didn't have any. Even better the next day. Ate it cold tossed with a little Italian dressing. Next time will add more kale since I'm suppose to get more greens in my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Stephenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
My family said this was one of the best pasta dishes they've ever had.They want me to definitely make it again! I used one box of bowtie pasta together with five bell peppers (red, yellow and green) and the whole bunch of kale. I also used extra olive oil. We like lots of veggies. Very colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This was fantastic. I used green instead of yellow peppers (for cost) and wide egg noodles instead of farfalle, since that's what I had on hand. It was a very good, very satisfying mediterranean (?) type dish that I love. I might cut back on the feta just a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

See how to make a quick Italian pasta with Italian sausage and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States