Sweet Pepper Pasta Toss with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I loved the recipe, but thought it needed a lot more kale! I also used mustard leaf w/ the kale and that worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
What a lovely colorful dish! I used what I had on hand (whole wheat penne, red, yellow & orange peppers and baby spinach. I also added a small chopped onion as well. I omitted the basil as I had none on hand. I seasoned the pepper, garlic and onion mix (I had about 2.5 cups of veggies) with red pepper flakes (maybe a 1/4 teaspoon). I added the spinach to the sauted vegetables for the last minute or so of cook time. I drained the pasta, reserving a cup of the cooking water. Dumped the drained pasta into the saute pan with the veggies, (wished I had used more than 1C of spinach!), added about a 1/4 C of the reserved pasta water along with about 3/4 C of crumbled feta. I served the pasta over a couple of handfuls of raw baby spinach. And topped with just a bit more feta. YUM! This will make my regular dinner rotation! I was very full and since I am only cooking for 1, there were about 3 cups of leftovers. I think it would be delightful served cold as well-maybe with a bit of sour cream added for moisture and more flavor. I am eager to try it with kale as well since kale is so healthy. I may make a special trip to acquire some kale from the farmer's market. Since I always have feta, tri-color peppers and baby spinach on hand (from Costco; this gives me a great, easy and satisying meal to make from those ingredients with leftovers to take for lunch or the next day. I generally make this recipie on my "meatless Monday" menu, though I think it would be good with some leftover
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Great recipe - my first time cooking with Kale. I used a gluten-free rice pasta, and I didn't have feta, so I used goat cheese instead (I found with that I needed just a touch more olive oil.) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Quite delicious! I also quadrupled the amount of kale (love the stuff), used fresh purple basil, kalamata olives, habanero sauce (also love spicy), and an aged stilton instead of feta. There's a lot of room for experimentation with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Just made this. Eating it right now! I added lots of balsamic vinegar, paprika and olives. It's kind of bland on its own, so don't skimp with the seasonings! Also, like other reviews have said, the kale cooks down a lot. I used the entire head of kale and it was a good amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This has a good taste but was a little "dry" as there is not real sauce. Increased the amount of kale to four cups and next time will add even more. Next time I will decrease the amount of pasta by 1/2. I will also make a few changes to the directions. Will saute the peppers until soft before adding the kale, garlic and seasonings. After combining the pasta, vegetables and cheese will add some pasta water to create a little "sauce" and make it a little creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Really good! I followed others' suggestion to add capers, zucchini, and kalamata olives and I used an entire bunch of kale...so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I am so glad I found this recipe or I probably never would have cooked kale. It looks beautiful and tastes great, and is good for you. I changed the cheese from feta to crumbled goat. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Very nice, basic recipe. I think that it could use touches to make it great, but is also good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by av8orgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This was my first time ever cooking kale, although I don't have picky eaters in my family I was nervous. Everyone loved this meal! Even my 4 year old. They ate seconds and took it cold to school for lunch the next day. I will definetly cook this again. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

See how to make a quick Italian pasta with Italian sausage and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States