Sweet Pea Mockamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
This is a delicious and healthy snack or appetizer that goes great with tortilla chips. You will be disappointed if you expect it to taste like regular guacamole (partly because you know what you put in it). If that's what you want, then make guacamole with avocados! In it's own right, this is something very good and different. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Very tasty, a little sweet, but that's to be expected from peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This is a really good dip, even if you aren't "fooled" by it. I'm not, but love peas, so tried it. It's now my "go to" dip - and I have friends that actually think it's guacamole! Really glad I've got this recipe, especially if I don't have avocados on Mexican food night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Not to our tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I loved it BECAUSE I left out the cumin and red flakes, and added the following: 2 small tomatoes, extra garlic, 2 tbsp cilantro, and a whole onion instead of the 3 Tbsp.. Adjust these ingredients to your taste. With these adjustments it's really hard to tell that there is no avocado. It's a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Great recipe but a bit dry so I added a shot of Vodka. Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Excellent!!! It doesn't taste completely like avocado but it's very close with the other ingredients added. I LOVED IT! I will be making this often as the taste is great! Those who said it tasted like mashed peas did not process it long enough nor add the other ingredients! I used a food processor (large one) and it didn't process very well until the lemon juice and olive oil was added but then I processed till good consistency. I started tasting it and had a hard time stopping! Thanks for the recipe, CACTUSUE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sophia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I like all the ingredients individually, but I did not care for this recipe. I didn't make any changes to the recipe as written. I was hoping it may improve as a leftover, but it did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Interesting blend of ingredients - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I always have plenty of frozen peas on hand so I thought I'd give this a try. If you're expecting the flavor to be anything close to guacamole (wok-uh-mo-lay), it's not going to be. It's like peeling a delicious tangerine and expecting it to taste like a sweet orange. Both tasty and flavorful but different. Having about a dozen Haas Avocados on hand I added 2 of them very coarsely mashed, some lime zest and juice and little minced cilantro and it was really good. Using basic hummus as a blank canvas I quite often add avocados, or other things, to my hummus and it's always a hit. I've never thought of adding frozen peas though but am going to the next time I make hummus. I actually used a pound of peas so I had enough for experimenting in different directions. I finely diced 2 strips of bacon and fried til crisp, added it and the brown bits from the bottom of the pan along with a dollop of sour cream for taste and creamy texture and had a wonderful pea and bacon dip. This is a keeper and a 5 star recipe. And BTW if you make a large batch, it freezes well in small zip lock bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States