Sweet Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Everyone loved it. I also eliminated the sugar and it was great. But many reviewers said to cut the dressing down. I did that and after 24 hours had to add more as it was really dry. So next time I will do all the dressing and wait at least 24 hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This was a great recipe, but really quite sweet. I may cut the sugar in half next time. My family is vegetarian, so we added some fake chicken, which turned out wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This pasta salad is great as is , my grandmom has made it for years but the key is ....to make it and then let it sit for 24- 36 hours or it will be to sweet and too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
OMG this recipe is wonderful. My family loves it. Just remember this recipe made an enormous amount. Great for cookouts!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I normally like sweet pasta salads, but this is just too sweet, even though I left out the sugar. I think a big part of the problem is that there's just too much sauce. It would probably be a lot better with the sauce halved or the pasta doubled. I decided to try to salvage it. I added dijon mustard and cheese and that cut the sweetness, but it still wasn't very good. (I didn't try adding pasta) After several days in the fridge, the sauce dried out enough to make the salad edible. But I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I made mine with Italian ingredents, black olives, salami, pepperoni, cubed mozzarella & tortellini's..now wondering what I can use the dressing on next!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Beecher, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
After reading other reviews I omitted the cup of sugar and am glad I did. It would have been WAY too sweet with the sugar. I made half the dressing, it was plenty, and used fat free sweetened condensed milk and light mayo to reduce the calories. In addition I added two Tble of dijon mustard to balance the sweetness. You can add a lot of veggies to up the nutrient value of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Wanted a different "pasta salad" for a Christmas Eve party & this was a success. Only used 1 cup sugar, & fine chopped red, green & yellow bell pepper, minced half a red onion, small can drained sliced black olives, & grated carrots...had a lot of left over dressing though. Best to make a day ahead for flavors to marry & to adjust dresssing. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Pretty good. I halved the vinegar, sweetened condensed milk, and mayonnaise. I left out the white sugar completely. It was still very sweet. I added a little cheddar cheese and some chopped black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This makes a HUGE bowl of salad that is sure to be a crowd pleaser! Thanks, Jan for a quality recipe. I made this last night, following others raters advise, I did not use the cup of sugar it called for. I'm so glad I didn't use it as the sweetened condensed milk is sweet enough. I also added broccoli and grated sharp cheddar cheese. Refridgerated overnight, and had it for lunch today. Very good, though very sweet. The dressing was just right, not too much, not too little, not too thick, not too thin. My only complaint is that I could have used more broccoli since we love broccoli salad. Update: This made so much that I had my son come by to get a big bowl for his supper. He rated it a 4...said it was too sweet. My hubby rated it a 5. So there you go..it's up to the taste buds. I will make it again though, thanks again for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grancooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States