Sweet Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I recommend not adding the sugar. The condensed, sweetened milk makes it sweet enough. This was very tasty... I added chicken and small cubes of tangerine to it, too. I also opted for a red bell pepper instead of green. My husband said he would have liked pine nuts in it. Next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Alittle tooooo sweet.It will work better next time when I adjust that part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I took this to a family gathering. I left out the sugar after reading some of the reviews. I threw in a red pepper. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This is an okay recipe. Overall, it has a good taste, but it's a bit too sweet which can make it hard to eat more than a few bites. I made it the night before and followed the recipe exactly. It looked a bit slimy but did dry up quite a bit overnight. I'm not sure if the condensed milk put it over the top, but I will might leave it out next time and just add more mayo if it needs more moisture. I think that will be a nice mix of traditional pasta salad and the sweet pasta salad because I'll keep the sugar in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made this for a Father's Day BBQ at my in-laws. They all LOVED it! Not too sweet, not too sour (which I thought might happen with the vinegar/mayo/milk combo). Anyway, I took the suggestions of other reviewers, and made the recipe this way: I shredded about 2 carrots (amount to taste), 1/2 chop green pepper, 1/2 chop sm onion, 1/2 c white vinegar, NO sugar, 1/2 can of sweetened condensed milk, 1/2-1 c light olive oil mayo, salt and pepper to taste (about 1 t each). Mix, chill, and enjoy! EDIT: For July 4th, was asked to bring to a friend's house for their BBQ because they heard my husband rave about it so much. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KETHRAE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I added a cup of shredded cheese, frozen peas, and left out the pepper and sugar. It was so delicious! I added another pound of pasta because there was so much dressing, but by the next day it was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftytammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abbey
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This is without a doubt my favorite pasta salad! My mom makes this all the time and it was the first time I have made it myself. Before I started making it, I called her for a couple tips. Tip #1: Do NOT add all the vinegar at once. It all depends on how soupy you want your pasta salad. I was fine with 1/2 C. vinegar total. Tip #2: Despite other reviews, Do NOT omit the sugar! Did you guys not see the title of the recipe "SWEET Pasta Salad?" The sugar makes it all the better. Also, this makes ALOT of pasta, I wish I would have halved it but hey-more for me, right? I'm literally inhaling this stuff as I type. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This is one of my favorite pasta salads. I use the Cremette Large Ring Macaroni noodles. It makes ALOT so I often make it for potlucks at work and save half for home or serve at parties and gatherings. Make this the night before and serve the next day and DON'T OMIT the sugar!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I'm glad I read the reviews advising not to add the sugar, that would make it sickeningly sweet. I added broccoli and substituted red and orange bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This pasta is absolutely wonderful!! I used a red pepper instead of green, omitted the sugar b/c from previous reviews they said the sugar would make it too sweet and I'm so glad I did b/c it was perfectly sweet w/o the sugar! And I added black olives and shredded cheese. I made it the night b4 and let it sit overnight, and it turned out so good!! Everyone loved it, and asked what all was in it! And it was even requested at my friend's graduation party this weekend so I'll be making it again! Loved it! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States