Sweet Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kjm
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
With a few revisions, this was a great snack! I made the topping (syrup, brown sugar and butter) exactly as described. I did, however, switc up the ingredients a bit: Chex Mix cereal, cheerios, pretzels, salted peanuts and honey roasted peanuts. I threw it all in a disposable roasting pan, then sprinkled in M&Ms after it was done baking. Very sweet and addicting mix that everyone has loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I made this for several kids I was dropping off at the movies. I did read many reviews and decided to use 1/2 box chex mix, 1/2 box cheerios, 2 handfuls of dry roasted peanuts, 1 handful of sunflower seeds and 1 cup of mini pretzels. I also used the disposable pan trays. I used two large sized and placed all the mix in one and drizzled sauce over. I covered with the other disposable pan and held them together to turn over to distibute the sauce evenly. I divided the mix between the two pans while baking. Only needed to cool about 10 minutes on "sprayed" wax paper. I did have some of it stick to the paper. Put into snack sized bags sprinkled with M & M 's. This does make a lot but it disappears FAST!! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Believe all these reviews!! As I was putting this together for the first time, I tasted it and thought, "okay, nothing special..." HOLY COW!!! After it has baked and cooled, I have never seen anyone (other than the super cool and super healthy kids in my acting class - insert eye roll...) who can keep their hands out of it. Here's how we have decided we like it best: Chop up a 5 oz jar of macadamia nuts into about half size chunks. Toast the nuts at 350 for about 10 minutes, or until golden brown. Cool. In the largest bowl you can find, mix a little over half a box of plain Cheerios, a little over half a box of Crispix, a little over half a bag of Snyders Butter Snaps pretzels, the toasted macadamia nuts, and about one third of a box of wheat Chex. Make the goo - follow the rest of the directions, baking in the largest and deepest aluminum roasting pan you can find. CAN'T STOP EATING THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
Beware . . . I had to make a double receipe because I couldn't stop nibbling! A little messy to work with when stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
This was fantastic! One change I would make for myself is just using a larger disposable roasting pan for mixing. Other than that, super-easy and delish! Editing to add that I boil the corn syrup, sugar mixture for about 3-4 minutes. Also, the last time I made it, I used 4 cups of rice chex and 4 cups of wheat chex. It made for a nice crunchy mix that was just sweet enough. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I added mini pretzles before baking and then M&Ms at the end. I couldn't stop eating this and my guests loved it. My 17 year old begged me to let her take it in a baggie everyday to share with her friends at summer school. Winner, winner! P.S. Don't make this if you are on a diet because you will not be able to resist it and there is nothing diet about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This is "Wonderful" any time of the year...but especially good at Christmas Time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
Mmmmm! This recipe should be renamed, "Addictive Sweet Party Mix!" It is a favorite for every party! My friends beg me to bring it over, and little do they know how easy it is to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
OOOH MY! Very Good! Easy, if you get carried away adding different dry goods, just up the sauce ingred's by 1/4. The salty and sweet ratio is perfect. It is nice to have a recipe that can be adaptable to what you have on hand, or what you like best! DO NOT CROWD ON COOKIE SHEET, IT WILL COOL IN BIGGER THAN BITE SIZE PIECES IF YOU DO. GIVE IT ROOM TO COOL,re: 2 COOKIE SHEETS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Have made this recipe twice this week! I did add more nuts the second time around (4 cups total). With peanuts, it taste alot like peanut brittle. YUMMY!!! I also baked mine on sprayed cookie sheets (use two) for ease of stirring the mixture. I also stirred the mixture about every 10 minutes as it was cooling so it wouldn't stick so bad to the cookie sheets. VERY ADDICTIVE!!! Definitely a diet buster. Thanks Bobbie for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States